Air Quality Regulation of Wildfire Smoke
Application of the Clean Air Act to Wildfire
Clean Air Act
One Good Case Starting Point
Each database potentially will have different cases connected to your one good case. You can also use the citator to find related law reviews.
Starting from One Good Law Review Article
Remember to use Headnotes and Key Numbers/Topics to find other related cases. You can add key words by searching within your Key Number results.
Use non-law databases
In Academic Search Complete, search for the known articles. Then Find Similar Results using SmartText Searching to find other similar articles. (The link will be on the left side of the page). You can also use the Subject terms to create a new search. Start with broad searches and then use filters or additional key words to narrow the search.
ProQuest CentralThe largest aggregated full-text database of journal articles, magazines, newspapers and dissertations for information on a broad range of general reference subjects such as business, political science, art, literature and psychology. Search 24 databases at ProQuest central or choose a subject database.
In ProQuest, you can also start with the known article and then on the bottom right of the page showing the full-text of the article, you will see a Search with indexing terms box. Select relevant search terms eg. Forest and Brush Fires; Location: United States. Run the search and then modify it by adding in more relevant key words in the search box at the top of the page. eg. "Clean air act". Use the filters on the left side to narrow your search. eg. wildfires. You can also limit by Source type to Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals and Other Sources.
Key Word Searches
You can always run key word searches in any of the databases.
Google ScholarSearch a large number of law and social science journals. You can get access to the full-text of some but not all of the articles on Google Scholar. For seamless full-text access, where available, click “settings”, click “Library Links” and then select UC Law SF and SFPL. “Save” your settings.
You may need to go to the Library's subscription databases or e-Journals pages to find the full-text of some articles you locate on Google Scholar. If this does not work, you can request the full-text via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). See sample search below.
Practical Law Connect Sample Search adv: "Wildfire Smoke" AND (Regulation OR "clean air act")Search across multiple sources at once. Use the Content type tabs on the left to see Secondary Sources (including law review articles), Cases, Court documents and Expert Materials (experts may have written reports that appear in cases).
UC Law SF Catalog - Sample SearchAny field contains wildfires AND Any field contains exact phrase clean air act
Use the filters on the left to limit by Resource Type or Subject.
Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksFull text and citations from legal periodicals and books. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications. Coverage: 1981 - present; Retrospective Coverage: 1908-1981. Links to full text for most citations.
WorldCatUse Advanced Search to search by keyword, title, or author.
Select "Article" in the left column to limit search results.
Click on the article title
Click the blue "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan" to get a PDF sent to your email.
Try a broad search in the Index to Legal Periodicals and Books for wildfires and "clean air act"
Legal Scholarship Network (LSN)LSN is part of the the Social Science Research Network (SSRN). You can search LSN for early scholarly legal research (many papers are posted here prior to publication in academic journals). Or you can search the papers posted on LSN using the advanced search features available at
SSRN.
Run a simple search for wildfires in the Legal Scholarship Network and then search within for "clean air act" because you cannot do a Boolean search in the main search bar.
Government Reports
Non-Government Reports
Non-Academic Legal Analysis
Law Firm Memos
Law Blogs
