LibGuides: International Law Research Guide: Lexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg

Lexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg Law

Lexis Foreign & International Law Content

Lexis+ is not the strongest resource for international law research, but it does provide access to U.S. cases addressing international law issues, a lot of articles covering international, foreign and comparative law, and a number of good secondary sources.

There are several ways to locate the best international law sources on Lexis Advance including:

Search the Lexis+ search box
Select the Practice Area tab
Select the Source tab, or
Select the Topics tab

- In the...

International Law Practice Area
you can search sources such as:

International Legal Research

Guide to International Legal Research The Guide to International Legal Research is an authoritative and comprehensive reference tool for law students and practitioners. Authored annually by The George Washington International Law Review, the Guide is designed to assist both novices and professionals with their international legal research. Following an introduction by Professor Christopher J. Borgen, the Guide is organized into two parts. In the first part, chapters are divided by regions. Each chapter contains an overview of the geopolitical climate in each region and lists government resources, legal resources, media resources, and resources by topic. Where appropriate, these sources are subdivided by country. Many of the chapters discuss general multi-national organizations as well as international trade organizations and agreements that are specific to the region. The Guide also provides an overview of what each source covers and how it can be most effective. The second part of the Guide covers substantive areas of international law, including general international law, public health law, space law, human rights law, intellectual property, international trade, international business transactions, environmental law, labor law, and international security law. Much like the regional sections, the substantive chapters begin with a section on international governance followed by a section on secondary sources pertinent to that subject area.

International Case Law

International Court of Justice Judgments The International Court of Justice Judgments (ICJCC) file contains the full-text, English-language judgments of the International Court of Justice for "contentious cases"; i.e. cases between the Member States of the United Nations (currently 191). Coverage begins in 1948 with The Corfu Channel Island cases and includes those full-text judgments made available to LexisNexis by permission of the Court. Where applicable, links are provided to full-text U.S. and Canadian cases cited in the judgment. The International Court of Justice, sometimes called the "World Court," is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. Its seat is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). It began work in 1946, when it replaced the Permanent Court of International Justice which had functioned in the Peace Palace since 1922. It operates under a Statute largely similar to that of its predecessor, which is an integral part of the Charter of the United Nations. The Court has a dual role: to settle in accordance with international law the legal disputes submitted to it by States, and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized international organs and agencies. Judgments are final and without appeal. Since 1946 the Court has delivered 89 Judgments on disputes concerning inter alia land frontiers and maritime boundaries, territorial sovereignty, the non-use of force, non-interference in the internal affairs of States, diplomatic relations, hostage-taking, the right of asylum, nationality, guardianship, rights of passage and economic rights. Judgments will display in reverse chronological order by date of decision. For advisory opinions, see International Court of Justice Advisory Opinions. For pleadings and orders of pending cases filed in 2004 forward, see International Court of Justice Filings.
International Court of Justice Advisory Opinions The International Court of Justice Advisory Opinions (ICJAO) file contains the full-text, English-language advisory opinions of the International Court of Justice. The advisory procedure of the Court is open solely to international organizations. The only bodies at present authorized to request advisory opinions of the Court are five organs of the United Nations and 16 specialized agencies of the United Nations family. Coverage begins in 1948 with an opinion on admission of a State to membership in the United Nations. The International Court of Justice, sometimes called the "World Court," is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. Its seat is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). It began work in 1946, when it replaced the Permanent Court of International Justice which had functioned in the Peace Palace since 1922. It operates under a Statute largely similar to that of its predecessor, which is an integral part of the Charter of the United Nations. The Court has a dual role: to settle in accordance with international law the legal disputes submitted to it by States, and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized international organs and agencies. Since 1946 the Court has given 25 Advisory Opinions, concerning inter alia the legal consequences of the construction of a wall in the occupied Palestinian territory, admission to United Nations membership, reparation for injuries suffered in the service of the United Nations, territorial status of South-West Africa (Namibia) and Western Sahara, judgments rendered by international administrative tribunals, expenses of certain United Nations operations, applicability of the United Nations Headquarters Agreement, the status of human rights rapporteurs, and the legality of the threat or use of nuclear weapons. Advisory Opinions will display in reverse chronological order by date of decision. For judgments in contentious cases, see International Court of Justice Judgments. For pleadings and orders of pending cases filed in 2004 forward, see International Court of Justice Filings.
International Court of Justice Filings The International Court of Justice Filings (ICJDOC) file contains various full-text, English-language interim documents filed with the International Court of Justice for pending cases, including the application and written pleadings, as well as various orders of the Court, where available. Coverage begins in 2004 with written pleadings and orders from the Avena case whereby the Court eventually found that the U.S. breached its obligations to certain Mexican nationals and Mexico under International Law. The International Court of Justice, sometimes called the "World Court," is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. Its seat is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). It began work in 1946, when it replaced the Permanent Court of International Justice which had functioned in the Peace Palace since 1922. It operates under a Statute largely similar to that of its predecessor, which is an integral part of the Charter of the United Nations. The Court has a dual role: to settle in accordance with international law the legal disputes submitted to it by States, and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized international organs and agencies. The proceedings include a written phase, in which the parties file and exchange pleadings, and an oral phase consisting of public hearings at which agents and counsel address the Court. As the Court has two official languages (English and French) everything written or said in one language is translated into the other. The interim documents will display in reverse chronological order by date. For judgments of the Court in contentious cases, see International Court of Justice Judgments.
International Trade Commission Decisions The International Trade Commission Decisions (ITC) file contains materials relevant to antidumping (section 731) and countervailing duty (section 701) investigations, and five-year reviews (section 751(c) "sunset provision") under the Tariff Act of 1930; and global safeguard investigations under sections 201 and 204 of the Tariff Act of 1974. These materials include all full-text investigative opinions made by the Commission (preliminary and final determinations); five-year review opinions; notices of investigations, terminations, requests for submission, proposed amendments, news, and other USITC Publications and actions of the Commission. All documents have LEXIS Cites and pagination, and links to U.S. caselaw and relevant sections of the USCS and Federal Register. For related materials, please see the following: - Listed sections of the Tariff Act of 1930 at 19 USCS 1671 et seq; 1673 et seq; and 1675(c ) - USITC Notices from the Federal Register - USITC Administrative Law Judge decisions dealing with unfair trade practices under section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930. - U.S. Court of International Trade for appeals from the USITC
NAFTA Panel Review Decisions
US Court of International Trade Cases The US Court of International Trade Cases (CIT) file contains cases from the United States Court of International Trade. Also contains abstracts from the United States Court of International Trade Decisions dated 1981 through 1988.
International Judicial Assistance In a global economy, litigators are increasingly dealing with foreign parties, witnesses, evidence, and judgments in the course of representing their clients. International Judicial Assistance, 2012 Edition offers clear, practical guidance on the law, procedure, and best practices for accomplishing a number of essential actions requiring international judicial assistance: serving process, obtaining depositions and documentary evidence, and enforcing foreign judgments and arbitration awards.

Secondary Sources

Foreign & International Law Journals
International Legal Materials One of ASIL's premier publications, published since 1962, International Legal Materials (ILM) file provides the basic, primary documents necessary for research and analysis of international law. Materials are selected by ASIL for their usefulness to scholars, practitioners, business and government officials, both in the United States and abroad. These materials include the full texts of important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organizations resolutions and other documents. Examples include: * Vienna Convention of Law on Treaties * UN Convention of the Law of the Sea * International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights * International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights * Rio Conference on Environment and Development documents * EU treaties and conventions * Free Trade Agreements from around the world * Decisions of the International Court of Justice * Selected European Court of Human Rights, UN, WTO, World Bank and WTO materials LexisNexis provides the only complete, searchable online collection of ILM.
International Business Planning: Law and Taxation This practical guide addresses the most common legal, tax, and financial planning issues associated with international business transactions, with pertinent legislation and sample forms throughout the set. Part I analyzes the framework for international business: general business climate, monetary, trade, financial and the role of various U.S. government agencies. Part II discusses foreign investment transactions, including financing, protection of investments, and insurance. Part III examines international dispute settlement, discussing dispute settlement planning and international commercial arbitration. Part IV covers tax planning, export tax incentives, technology transfer, tax structuring, and controlled foreign corporations.
International Commercial Arbitration Practice: 21st Century Perspectives The scope and importance of International Commercial Arbitration (ICA) has expanded exponentially in the last few decades and has become the natural and logical method to resolve international business and economic disputes. This collective work captures the development of ICA from different perspectives and uniquely brings together the ideas, suggestions and perspectives of in-house counsel as the most important users of ICA, along with outside counsel, arbitrators themselves, and major arbitration organizations who all help provide the service. Most, if not all, of the contributing authors have served as counsel or arbitrator in arbitrations and have further contributed, through their writings, teachings or activities in arbitral and other institutions, to the evolution of ICA covered by this collective work. Accordingly, International Commercial Arbitration Practice: 21st Century Perspectives is an indispensable tool for the reader--practitioner, arbitrator, academic, magistrate or student--not only to obtain useful general information on ICA practice today but to gain insightful views as to the influence of this institution in the settlement of international commercial disputes in specific economic areas, industries and commercial activities. International Commercial Arbitration Practice: 21st Century Perspectives brings the process alive and provides the reader with a useful practice guide whether he or she represents a client participating in an international commercial arbitration, is in-house counsel for a company considering arbitration as a possible method of dispute resolution, or is an arbitrator with cases at hand. The book is organized by Parts which contain thematically related chapters. Part I deals with an overview of key elements in ICA practice and includes chapters on how arbitration is conducted under different legal systems such as common law, civil law, and shari'a law, as well as a chapter on cultural issues in international arbitration. Part II contains geographical regional overviews covering most regions of the world (Western Europe, Russia/NIS countries, Asia (particularly China & Hong Kong and the Indian Subcontinent), Middle East & North Africa, Latin America, the U.S., Canada, and Australia & New Zealand. Part III includes individual industry sector views of how ICA is conducted in individual industry and business sectors such as oil & gas, LNG, mining, construction, telecommunications, satellite communications, intellectual property, sports, banking & finance, insurance & reinsurance, securities, shipping & maritime, corporate shareholder and bankruptcy settings. These chapters are highly instructive because many of them were written by current or former in-house counsel in these industries or, in some cases, by outside counsel who focus on these industries. Part IV of the book describes recent trends at several major global commercial arbitration institutions such as the ICC, ICDR, LCIA, CPR and WIPO. Part V deals with questions of how technology has been changing ICA practice in recent years, including chapters relating to the use of technology by some major arbitral institutions, videoconferencing in ICA, and online arbitration of internet domain name and e-commerce cases.
Smit & Herzog on the Law of the European Union A Commentary on the EC Treaty. LexisNexis is introducing the first two volumes of this new and unique English-language commentary on the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty Establishing the European Community. Featuring renowned scholars, Hans Smit and Peter Herzog, accomplished European law practitioners, academics, and public servants analyse each article of the two treaties, its evolution, major case law and subordinate legislation. These provisions are the basis of the European Union's internal and external trade, economic regulation and social integration and extensively shape the domestic laws of all its Member States
U.S. Naval War College International Law Studies Series This file contains the 90+ volume collection of the U.S. Naval War College International Law Studies Series, accessible through a searchable file or electronic table of contents. Volumes 1-88 were published annually with specific titles. Beginning with Volume 89 the USNWC publishes separate articles of interest on a rolling basis throughout the year and these will be released on LexisNexis in a similar manner, as received. The International Law Studies (also known as the "Blue Book") Series was initiated by the Naval War College in 1901 to publish essays, treatises, and articles that contribute to the broader understanding of international law. Topics are timely as well as of historical interest showing the development and practical application of international law principles in time of conflict and peace throughout the 20th century and into the 21st. Written and edited over the years by such noted international law professors and lecturers as George G. Wilson (Harvard and Brown University) , Payson S. Wild, Jr., (Harvard) Alfred P. Rubin (Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy) , Howard S. Levie, Leslie C. Green, and Richard J. Grunawalt (Naval War College) , among many others, the topics include: *Coast Warfare; Contraband (Vol 1, 1901) *Neutrality and Breaking of Diplomatic Relations (Vol 17, 1917) *The Treaty of Peace with Germany (Vol 19, 1919) *Insurrection, Belligerency, Statehood (Vol 36, 1936) *Visit and Search; Destruction of Prizes; War Zones; Defense Zones (Vol 43, 1943) *The Protection of Victims of War (Vol 47, 1951-52) *The International Law of Outer Space (Vol 55, 1962) *Criminal Jurisdiction of Visiting Armed Forces (Vol 52, 1957-58) *Submarine Warfare and International Law (Vol 58, 1966) *Prisoners of War in International Armed Conflict (Vol 59, 1977). Note: Series was restarted in 1977 *Protection of the Environment During Armed Conflict (Vol 69, 1996) *The Law of Piracy (Vol 63, 1988) *Levie on the Law of War (Vol 70, 1998) *International Law and the War on Terror (Vol 79, 2003) *Computer Network Attack and International Law (Vol 76, 2004) *The Law of War in the 21st Century: Weapons and the Use of Force (Vol 82, 2006) *The Wars in Iraq and Afghanistan (Vols 85-86, 2009-10) *International Law and the Changing Character of War (Vol 87, 2011) *Non-International Armed Conflict in the Twenty-first Century (Vol 88, 2012) *Protecting Cultural Property in Non-International Armed Conflicts: Syria and Iraq See the electronic table of contents for a complete list of the available topics and articles. The articles, essays, and treatises in this publication on lexis.com can be accessed either by a regular word search, especially useful when researching certain terms, phrases or concepts across the entire database (e.g. " no fly zone", "blockade", "trial W/10 war criminal" , "prisoners PRE/2 war" ) or through an electronic table of contents covering all available volumes. Feature functions include bi-directional footnotes: "Book Browse" -which allows the user to move back and forth between documents; "Get a Document"-the ability to retrieve an article by its citation; images of complex tables, maps or graphs, where provided; and links to available cited U.S. legislation, caselaw, and other materials, where possible. ** NOTE: OPNAVINST 5450.207 (series) formally tasks the Naval War College with publishing the "Blue Book" series. The thoughts and opinions expressed in this publication are those of the authors and not necessarily those of the U.S. Government, the U.S. Department of the Navy or the Naval War College.
Restatement of the Law, Foreign Relations Law 3d - Official Text The Restatement of the Law, Rules files contain the Rules, Comments and Notes regarding the common law of a specific Restatement subject as set forth by the American Law Institute. As a general rule, each 'Black Letter Rule' is accompanied by comments, illustrations and Reporter's Notes. Additionally, any supplementary material, references (ALR and Digest numbers) and notes are attached. Occasionally, historical, scope and introductory notes will stand alone as documents.
Restatement of the Law Fourth: The Foreign Relations Law of the United States The Restatement Fourth of U.S. Foreign Relations Law addresses the U.S. approach to three areas of foreign relations law, with limitations: - Treaties but not other forms of international agreements - U.S. views on Jurisdiction, but not generally on separation of powers or federalism - Sovereign Immunity, but not other immunities required or regulated by international law Please refer to the Restatement Third of U.S. Foreign Relations for coverage of other topics.

Comparative Law

Country Reports Country Reports on Human Rights Practices issued by U. S. Department of State, Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor.

Treaties

United States Convention This file contains International Agreements from the United States Code Service. The Agreements selected for inclusion in the United States Code Service generally relate to intellectual property matters or civil litigation procedural matters. The United States is a party to all agreements included in this file. The conventions included are: - Universal Copyright Convention - Universal Copyright Convention as Revised - Berne Convention As Revised - Buenos Aires Convention - Convention for the Protection of Producers of Phonograms Against Unauthorized Duplication of Their Phonograms - Convention Relating to the Distribution of Programme-Carrying Signals Transmitted by Satellite - Patent Cooperation Treaty - Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property - Nice Agreement Concerning the International Classification of Goods and Services for the Purposes of the Registration of Marks - General Inter-American Convention for Trademark and Commercial Protection - Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks - Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards - Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial Matters - Convention on the Taking of Evidence Abroad in Civil or Commercial Matters - Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating to International Transportation by Air ('Warsaw Convention') - Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction - United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods - Convention on the Limitation Period in the International Sale of Goods as Amended by the Protocol Amending the Convention on the Limitation Period in the International Sale of Goods - Inter-American Convention on International Commercial Arbitration - Convention Abolishing the Requirement of Legislation for Foreign Public Documents - Inter-American Convention on Letters Rogatory - Agreement between the Government of the United States of America and the Commission of the European Communities Regarding the Application of Their Competition Laws - WIPO Copyright Treaty - WIPO Performances And Phonogram Treaty - Trademark Law Treaty - Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules for International Carriage by Air ("Montreal Convention") - Hague Convention on Protection of Children and Co-operation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption - Vienna Convention on Consular Relations - Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations - Charter of the United Nations ("U.N. Charter") - Geneva Convention (I) for the amelioration of the condition of the wounded and sick in armed forces in the field - Geneva Convention (II) for the amelioration of the condition of the wounded, sick, and shipwrecked members of armed forces at sea - Geneva Convention (III) relative to the treatment of prisoners of war - Geneva Convention (IV) relative to the protection of civilian persons in time of war - Convention against torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment - Optional protocol to the convention on the rights of the child on the involvement of children in armed conflict - Optional protocol to the convention on the rights of the child on the sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography - Convention on prohibitions or restrictions on the use of certain conventional weapons which may be deemed to be excessively injurious or to have indiscriminate effects - Protocol relating to the status of refugees - International covenant on civil and political rights

Westlaw Foreign & International Law Content

The two main sources of foreign & international legal information on Westlaw are:

You may get better search results by going to each of these sections of Westlaw instead of using the Westlaw global search box.

Practical Law Global

The Practical Law resources on Westlaw offer a rich collection business and commercial resources for some foreign countries.

Examples of current in-depth content include:

Practice Notes
Standard Documents and Clauses
Checklists
Toolkits
Legal Updates
Country-by-Country Legal Research Guidance
Country Comparison Tools
Subject Specific Practice Resources

Foreign legal resources in Practical Law

Practical Law Global
Browse practice areas and jurisdictions.
Search Global Guides and Cross-Border Topics
Country Q&A Comparison Tool
Compare jurisdictions on topics such as:
Arbitration
Banking Regulation
Capital Markets – Debt
Capital Markets – Equity
Commercial Real Estate
Competition
more...less...
Contract Formation and Enforcement
Corporate Governance and Directors' Duties
Data Protection
Dispute Resolution
Doing Business In...
Employee Share Plans
Employment and Employee Benefits
Environment
Family
Insurance and Reinsurance
Intellectual Property Rights
Intellectual Property Transactions
Legal Systems
Lending and Taking Security
Life Sciences Regulation
Pensions
Private Mergers and Acquisitions
Restructuring and Insolvency
Supply of Goods
Supply of Services

Westlaw International Materials

Home > International Materials
In this section you will find:
more...less...
Jurisdictions
Australia
Canada
European Union
Hong Kong
Korea
United Kingdom
Other International Jurisdictions

Content Types
Cases
Administrative Materials
Legislation
Treatises
Journals
Current Awareness
Court Documents
Legal Memoranda
Jury Verdicts
Forms
Home > International Materials > Other International Jurisdictions
Jurisdictions include:
more...less...
Austria
Barbados
Cayman Islands
China
France
Germany
Iran
Ireland
Israel
Mexico
Netherlands
New Zealand
Poland
Rwanda
Singapore
South Africa
Switzerland
Taiwan
Yugoslavia (former)
International Cases
International Legislation
Home > International Materials World Journals
Covers these jurisdictions:
more...less...
Australia
Canada
European Union
France
Germany
Hong Kong
Ireland
Israel
Korea
Mexico
Multi-National
Netherlands
New Zealand
Poland
Singapore
Taiwan
United Kingdom
United States
International Journals
One of the most important International Law Journals is:
Home > International Materials > International Journals > Multi-National Journals
International Legal Materials (ILM)
Also available on Proquest, JSTOR Lexis & HeinOnline.
more...less...
Documents reproduced in International Legal Materials by the American Society of International Law (ASIL). Contains the text of international documents, including introductory notes and content summaries if available. Selected coverage begins with 1980 (vol. 19).
International Current Awareness
Home > International Materials > International Treatises
This path takes you to Multinational Treatises. These multi-national treatises are a good resource for finding legal analysis on foreign law. Each multi-national compilation includes analysis arranged by country.
International Family Law Practice
Transnational Litigation: A Practitioner's Guide
World Online Business Law
Digest of Commercial Laws of the World
Comparative Environmental Law and Regulation
Home > International Materials > International Administrative Materials > Multi-National Administrative Materials
Includes:
International Court of Justice Decisions Full text of documents from the International Court of Justice (the World Court), a judicial body established by the United Nations sitting in The Hague, Netherlands. Coverage begins with 1947. Source of this material is the ICJ's publication Report of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders, last published in 2000. Selected documents beginning with 2001, as released and made available by the International Court of Justice prior to publication of the Report, are also included.

U.S. International Law Materials

Case Law

Home > West Key Number System 221 INTERNATIONAL LAW
Finding tool. Use this to look for U.S. cases on international law.
American Law Reports - International
Another way to find relevant case law
U.S. Court of International Trade Cases Summary U.S. Court of International Trade Cases contain reported and unreported case law from the U.S. Court of International Trade and the former U.S. Customs Court. Coverage: Begins with 1938 and continues to the present day.
Immigration Administrative Decisions & Guidance

Treaties

Federal Agency Decisions

Useful for State Practice research

Federal Administrative Decisions & Guidance
Includes:
more...less...
Department of Defense (DOD)
Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
Department of Justice (DOJ)
Department of State (DOS)
Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
Foreign Service Grievance Board (FSGB)
International Trade Administration (ITA)
International Trade Commission (ITC) decisions

Use the pull-down menu to toggle between Westlaw & Practical Law

Bloomberg Law Foreign & International Law Content

Contains a limited amount of legal analysis of international legal issues mostly focusing on business law. But the database does include excellent news and current awareness resources

International Litigation

Discovery in International Civil Litigation: A Guide for Judges

Corporate Finance

International Corporate Finance: Value Creation with Currency Derivatives in Global Capital Markets

Environmental Law

Environment Reporter
Not updated after 2018

Intellectual Property

Labor & Employment

Labor & Employment Practice Center
Scroll down for International Materials

Privacy

International Libel and Privacy Handbook: A Global Reference for Journalists, Publishers, Webmasters, and Lawyers
Privacy & Data Security Practice Center
Scroll down for foreign & international materials

Tax

International Tax

Trade

International Trade Daily™
Not updated after 2018
International Trade Reporter ™
Not updated after 2018
WTO Reporter ®
Not updated after 2018
Transactional Intelligence Center - Commercial Law
Scroll down for foreign & International materials
Trade-Based Money Laundering: The Next Frontier in International Money Laundering Enforcement
Subscribe to Bloomberg Law email alerts
UC Law SF students can receive email update with the contents (and links) to specified reports and topics including Bloomberg International Newsletter and International Trade News.

International Law Research Guide

Lexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg Law

Contents

Lexis Foreign & International Law Content

International Legal Research

International Case Law

Secondary Sources

Comparative Law

Treaties

Westlaw Foreign & International Law Content

Practical Law Global

Foreign legal resources in Practical Law

Westlaw International Materials

U.S. International Law Materials

Case Law

Treaties

Federal Agency Decisions

Use the pull-down menu to toggle between Westlaw & Practical Law

Bloomberg Law Foreign & International Law Content

International Litigation

Corporate Finance

Environmental Law

Intellectual Property

Labor & Employment

Privacy

Tax

Trade