Listed below are several specialized databases that students in this course may find useful when performing research related to this class. For a complete A to Z list of all databases available to you as a UC Law SF student, please go to: https://libguides.uclawsf.edu/az/databases. Unless otherwise indicated, descriptions within quotation marks are pulled from the sites listed.
Academic Search Complete: Full text coverage of a wide array of multidisciplinary academic journals.
Accessible Archives Complete: “[P]rovides access to archived historical information previously available only in microform or obscure print collections. Collections Include: African American Newspapers, Anatomy of Protest in America, History of Woman Suffrage,” etc.
American Indian and Alaskan Native Documents in the Congressional Serial Set: 1817-1899: “During the 19th century, the United States was engaged in an era of territorial expansion and addition of new states. The government entered into treaties with tribes, conducted wars with tribes, established reservations, relocated tribes, and determined rights to the lands and resources of the indigenous population. The Serial Set provides in-depth, detailed contemporaneous documentation of political, military, and governmental activities related to indigenous peoples of the continental United States and Alaskan territory.”
Civil Rights and Social Justice (HeinOnline): Contains hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, as well as a varied collection of books on related civil rights topics and a list of prominent civil rights organizations.
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Resources (Gale): “Include a wide variety of research databases on the topics of racism, civil rights, and social injustice. Search primary documents, eBooks, and archives. Resources are divided into five subject areas: 1) Racism & Social Injustice, 2) Gender & Sexuality, 3) Ethnicity & Area Studies, 4) Colonialism, Imperialism & Indigeneity, 5) Perspectives & Debate.”
Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale): “[C]overs the political, social, and cultural history of the native peoples of the US & Canada from the 16th to the 20th century. Covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations. Topics include trade, communication, Arctic exploration, the Iroquois Confederation, Canadian Catholic Indian missions, Indian removal, Indian wars, Indian delegations, Indian-federal relations, Indian treaty policy, missionary schools, the allotment system, Alaskan Indian policies, Indian languages, assimilation, relocation, termination, the Indian Claims Commission, water right, fishing rights, civil rights, radicalism, and the American Indian movement.”
Lexis+ Social Justice Resources Kit: Contains resources related to voting rights, protestors’ rights and racial equity.
Proquest Indian Claims Insight: “[P]rovides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as federal government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. Content includes: Pre-1948: claims presented to Congress and/or brought before the Court of Claims; 1948-1978: Indian Claims Commission, including briefs, docket books, decisions, expert testimony, oral transcripts;Post-1978: Claims brought before the US Court of Claims (through 1982) and US Court of Federal Claims (through 2006); documents related to post-2006 settlement of claims; legislative histories and congressional publications directly related to Indian claims, including congressional publications indexed by docket numbers; important Supreme Court decisions; and maps.”
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline): Contains legal materials relating to the history of slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, including federal, state, and colonial statutes on slavery, as well as all reported state and federal cases on the subject; hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery, every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920; more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century; modern histories of slavery and a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline): Contains treaties, treaty-related publications, tribal codes, constitutions, federal case law, government reports, scholarly works, and Title 25 (Indians) of the U.S. Code and Code of Federal Regulations.
JSTOR: Articles and e-books covering general disciplines, including: African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Feminist & Women’s Studies, and Latin American Studies.
ProQuest Central: “The largest aggregated full-text database of journal articles, magazines, newspapers and dissertations for information on a broad range of general reference subjects.”
ProQuest Legislative Insight: “Coverage: 1789 - current. Federal legislative history resource comprised of fully searchable PDFs of congressional legislative documents. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.”
ProQuest Regulatory Insight: “As a companion to Legislative Insight, Regulatory Insight offers U.S. federal administrative law histories for the period 1936-2014 organized by federal statute and Executive Order. Regulatory Insight creates regulatory histories for individual federal statutes and Executive Orders by compiling pertinent Federal Register articles into a research-friendly workspace similar to the workspace provided in Legislative Insight.”
ProQuest Supreme Court Insight (1975-): “Complete online collection of full opinions from United States Supreme Court argued cases, including decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Coverage begins in 1975.”
SSRN: A searchable repository for scholarly preprints in fields including the social sciences and humanities; includes a Race & Social Inequity section.