LibGuides: Japanese Law Research Guide: Lexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg Law

Lexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg Law

Lexis - Research Basics

Lexis+
has three main types of resources that might be of use for anyone research legal issues in Japan: 1) News, 2) Articles, 3) Business Guides. Lexis does not have a lot of resources covering non-business related legal issues in Japan.

There are Japanese news sources and a limited number of Japanese secondary law sources available on Lexis. They can be found by following these paths:

Lexis+ > International tab > View All Countries > Japan
Treatises, Guides & Jurisprudence
Japan News
Japan Legal News
Lexis+ > Content tab > News > International By Country > Japan
ACN Newswire (Bahasa Indonesia)
AJW (Asia & Japan Watch)
Asia Electronics Industry
Asia Private Equity Review
Asian Journal of Comparative Politics
more...less...
Asian Textile Business**
Astris Advisory Corporate Research (Japan)
Economy, Culture & History JAPAN SPOTLIGHT Bimonthly
Electric Daily News
Fashion Headline
The Fudousan Keizai Weekly
IFIS Japan
The Japan Agricultural News
Japan Corporate News Network (JCNN)
Japan Daily Report
Japan Economic Newswire
Japan Government News
Japan Metal Bulletin
Japan Metal Daily
The Japan News
Japan SPOTLIGHT
Japanese Business Digest
Japanese World
JCN Newswire
JCR News Release
Jiji Press Ticker Service
M Data CM Report
M Data TV Watch-Tokyo
MEOS Report
Neostage Company Profile
Neostage Non-listed Company Profile
News Bites - Asia: Japan
Nikkei Asia
Nikkei Newsletter on Bond and Money
Pharma Japan
Pyongyang Times
R & I - News Release
Response
Rim LNG Intelligence Daily
Rim Petrochemicals Intelligence Daily
Rimjin-Gang (North Korea)
ROA Group Report Summary
ROA Group White Papers
SCRIPTS Asia
Taiwan Economic Journal - Japan Company Profile
Tex Energy Report
WebNews - Japanese
Lexis+ > International Tab > Global Regulations > Japan
Note: There are no laws or regulations
Content:
Treatises, Guides & Jurisprudence
Japan News
Japan Legal News
Lexis+ > Practical Guidance > Select "Browse By Country" > Japan
Practice Notes

Lexis - News

Legal News
Includes U.S. & international legal news.
Japan News
Includes most of the Lexis news sources covering Japan.

Some of the best Lexis news sources on Japan include:

AJW (Asia & Japan Watch)
Asahi Shimbun's original articles and analyses of events happening in Japan and East Asia to the world.
Japan Daily Report
Japan Daily Report covers new research, with special emphasis on Japan's hi-tech scene, such as AI and robotics. From May 19, 2022 through current
Japan Economic Newswire
Japan Economic News Wire (JEN) is produced by Kyodo News Service, Japan's premier domestic general news agency. Kyodo is the major supplier of international general news to the Japanese media and Japanese general news to foreign media. The agency's status is similar to that of The Associated Press in the United States. The JEN file contains both the Japan Economic Daily and Kyodo English Language News. JEN provides daily news on development in Japanese finance, industry and government. JEN also offers Tokyo Stock Exchange prices, foreign stock closings, foreign stock exchange and U.S. treasury bond market data. Topics covered include high technology, energy, defense, manufacturing and new patents and contracts.
Japan Government News
Japan Government News features news, press releases, and speeches and remarks from the Japanese Cabinet, including the Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Finance, Environment, Education, Energy, Health and Tourism and also The Diet, the House of Representatives and the House of Councilors. It also covers news related to Regional Strength, Diversity, and Trade and Investment. Other content includes reports, safety standards, survey and strategies on innovation and technology, foreign relations and others. This publication also important judgement passed by The Supreme Court, updates from the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) and updates from Bank of Japan. From December 7, 2019 through current.
The Japan News
English-language daily newspaper by The Yomiuri Shimbun. It provides translated articles, columns, and editorials. It also features news and information focusing on Japanese society and government, as well as business, politics, sports and culture. From September 1, 1989 through current.
Japan SPOTLIGHT
The purpose of this publication is to deepen mutual understanding between Japan and other countries through activities aimed at promoting economic and technological exchanges. It provides information about Japan and exchanges ideas among opinion leaders in such fields as industry, government administration, academia and politics. From December 31, 2013 through current.
JCN Newswire
Access to certain freelance articles and other features within this publication (i.e. photographs, classifieds, etc ...) may not be available. JCN is Japan's leading corporate communications network - the official press release distributor of corporate financial, product and technical news releases to business partners worldwide. JCN is the only Japan newswire providing in-depth industry and technical news and real-time cutting-edge news from Japan.
JCR News Release
Provides news releases covering corporations, financial institutions, public sector, structured finance, and international organizations.
News Bites - Asia: Japan
News Bites - Asia: Japan covers the stock exchanges in Japan. This publication contains four types of stories: market reports, sector reports, stock reports and results. - Market Reports: Stock Exchange Markets, by index and sector, to identify price and trading volume changes, including bullish and bearish signals and market action tables. - Sector Reports: Sectors that have been markedly active in the day, by price, volume and value changes. -Stock Reports: Stocks that have been markedly active in the day, by price, volume and value changes, substantial shareholder changes and directors dealings. - Results: Tabulated financial reports showing Asian stock exchange-listed companies' seasonal monthly, quarterly, half-year and full-year financial results, including a two-year comparison of selected variables for half-year and full-year results.
Nikkei Asia
Nikkei Asian Review, published by Japan's leading business news and information company, is a key source for developments in Japanese industry, technology, finance, and raw materials market and for interpretation of economic and political trends affecting the free world's second largest economy. The paper provides coverage of individual company results and business plans, political and economic trends as well as thorough coverage of Japanese macroeconomic indicators. In addition, analyses are provided for price and supply of particular commodities and materials.
WebNews - Japanese
WebNews - Japanese consists of publications based in Japan that covers news and announcements across entertainment, business, politics, finance, lifestyle, science and technology.
more...less...
120% Craazy
25 Tsubo No Hiraya Hiyori
25Ans.jp
373News.com
39KF.com
3ds Game Kouryaku Blog
47 News
4Gamer
4Travel.jp
77 Bank Ltd
82Sec.co.jp
ADVANTEST
AFPBB News
AGS Consulting
AIRTECH JAPAN
AKIBA PC Watch
AKITA SAKIGAKE SHIMPO
ALBA.net
AMANO
ASAHI Net.jp
AV Watch
Adachi Yomiuri Shimbun
Agara
Agrinews.co.jp
Aichi Television Broadcasting
Akasaka Keizai Biz
Akebono Brake Industry
Akiba Keizai Biz
Akita.Keizai.biz
AllAbout.co.jp
Ameba News
Ameblo CAO-FSCJ
Amnesty.or.jp
Ando Securities
Anime Anime
Anshindo
ApparelWeb.com
Arsenal - Go Arsenal Go
Art-it.asia
Asahi-fh.com
Ascii.jp
Ashikaga Financial Group Inc
At Press
At Shizuoka
AtEngineer
Atmark IT
AutoSport Web
Autoc-one.jp
BRIDGESTONE
Barks
Biglobe
Billboard JAPAN.com
Bio Nikkeibp.co.jp
Biteki.com
Biwako Broadcasting Co
Biwako Otsy Keizai
Bloomberg.co.jp
Bonichi Shimbun
Boq.jp
Bungei Shunju
Business Law Room
Business Network.jp
Buturyu Sangyou Shinbunsya
CALSONIC KANSEI
CAS.go.jp
CHIBA NIPPO
CHUGAI PHARMACEUTICAL
CNET Japan
CNN Japan
CREA WEB
Cafeglobe
Car Sensor.net
Car Watch
Carview!
Celeb Times
Cenderawasih Pos
Cerij.or.jp
Chemical Daily
Cho Kigyo Rui Group No Chosen
Chofu Keizai Biz
Chugoku Bank
Chunichi Shimbun
Chuokoron.jp
CinemaToday.jp
Cinemacafe.net
Cinra.net
Classy - Online.jp
Cloud Watch
Codezine
Corporate Directions
Cosme.net
Crank-in.net
Cyber Communications
CycleStyle.net
Cyzo.com
DAIDO STEEL
DALTON
Daily Diamond
Daily Sports Online
Daily Tohoku
Dain.cocolog-nifty
Dairy.co.jp
Daiwa
Daiwa Investor Relations
Decn.co.jp
Dengeki Online.com
Diamond Computer Service
Diamond Online
Dime.jp
Dogan.jp
Dot
Dramanavi
Dream News.jp
E-nenpi.com
EE Times Japan
EIC.or.jp
ENGINE Online.jp
ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL CENTER
Ehime Broadcasting Co.
Ehime-np.co.jp
Eiga.com
ElleGirl.jp
Enjoy Tokyo
Enterprise Watch
Enterprise Zine
Excite.co.jp
Experian Japan
EyesCream.JP
F-TECH
F1 Express
FAMIC.go.jp
FASHION PRESS
FDK
FERIC.ne.jp
FERROTEC
FOOCOM.NET
FOOD SAFETY COMMISSION - BLOG
FUDGE.JP
Famitsu.com
Fashion Snap
Ferret
Fisco
FlyTeam.jp
Food Chemical News
Food Safety Commission of Japan
Foods-CH.com
FootballChannel.jp
ForM.AllAbout.co.jp
Foresight.jp
Forestry Agency
Forexpress
Fujisan Net
Fukui Shimbun
Fukui Television
Fukushihoken Metro Tokyo
Fukushima Minpo
Fukushima Television Broadcasting
Funabashi Keizai Shimbun
Futagotamagawa Keizai Shimbun
GMO Campaign
GOLDWIN
GOLF DIGEST ONLINE - JAPAN
GQ Japan
Gadget Tsuushin
Gala.jp
Game Watch
Gamer.ne.jp
Gas Energy News
Gekisaka.jp
Gendai Business
Gentosha.co.jp
GetNavi WEB
Gifu-np.co.jp
Gigazine
Ginza Keizai Biz
Gizmodo Japan
Global Brain
Golf Digest Online
Gomuhouchi Shimbun NEXT
Gomutimes.co.jp
Goo Autos
GoodsPress Online
Greenpeace Japan
Gressive.jp
Gunma Bank
HFNet.Nih.go.jp
HIKARI TSUSHIN
HTB Online
HVC Group
Hachioji Keizai Biz
Hakata.Keizai.biz
Hakuto
Hamamatsu Keizai
Hearst Fujingaho
Hers-Web.jp
Hibiki Securities
Higashi Aichi Shimbun
Himeji Keizai Biz
Hiroshima Home Television
Hiroshima Keizai Biz
Hiroshima Telecast
Hochi Shimbun
Hokkaido Broadcasting
Hokkaido Shimbun Press
Hokuriku
Hokuroku Shimbun
Hollywood News.jp
Houseki Hiroba
Houyhnhnm
The Huffington Post Japan
I-Voce
IPROS.jp
IRORIO
ISAO
IT Impressbm.co.jp
IT Media Japan
ITOCHU Techno Solutions Corporation
ITOCHU Technology Ventures
Ibaraki Shimbun
Ichigaya Keizai Biz
Impress Watch
Information Technology Promotion Agency Japan
Infoseek
Inside Games
Inter FM
Internetwatch
Invast Securities
Ise Shimbun
Iseshima Keizai
Ishigaki.Keizai.biz
Iwate Nichinichi Shimbun
Iwate Nippo
IyoBank
Iza
Izu Shimbun
J-CAST
JAFCO
JAJAPANELECTRONICMATERIAL
JCA.APC.org - Femin
JCR
JETRO
JRT.co.jp
JSAT.or.jp
JSDA.org
Jaish.gr.jp
Japan Anti-Vivisection Association
The Japan Food Chemical Research Foundation
Japan Jewellery Association
Japan Post
Japan Racing Association
Japan Radio
Japan Retail Fund IC
Japanese Defence Agency
Japanmetal.com
Jcia.org
Jetoc.or.jp
Jiji.com
Jiyugaoka Keizai
Jomo News
Joshi-SPA.jp
Jp.News.Gree.net
Jseinc.org
Jutaku Shimpo web
KEYENCE
KIRIN BREWERY
KOKUYO
KONAMI
KONICA MINOLTA
Kabu.com
Kabutan
Kaden Watch
Kagoshima Broadcasting
Kahoku Shimpo
Kaiji Press
Kakaku.com
Kanaloco
Kanazawa Keizai
Kaneka.co.jp
Kansai Telecasting Corporation
Kansai Urban Banking Corporation
Kao Corporation
Karasuma Keizai Biz
Kateigaho.com
Keizai Report
Kenko Media
Kensetsutsushin Shimbun
Keyman
Kichijoji Keizai Biz
Kigyoka.com
Kita Nippon Broadcasting
Kobe Keizai Biz
Kobe Shimbun Web News
Kochira dai 2bu henshuubutai
Koiki Kukan
Kokumin-Kaigi.org
Komachi.Yomiuri
KumamotoNichinichiShimbun
Kushiro Shimbunsha
Kyobashi Keizai Biz
Kyodo
Kyodo News Wire
Kyokuto Securities Co.
Kyoto Minpo
Kyushu Asahi Broadcasting
LEON
Lifehacking.jp
Livedoor
Lnews
MANTANWEB
MASPRO DENKOH
MEITEC
MEN'S EX
MEN'S NON-NO WEB
MEXT.go.jp
MIZUNO
MORI SEIKI
MRO
MSN.com Japan
MacFanNet
Machida.Keizai.biz
Madame Figaro.jp
Magazine World - GINZA
Mainichi JP
Mapion
Maquia Online
MarkeZine
Marusan-sec.co.jp
Matsui
Matsumoto Keizai
Matsuyama.Keizai.biz
Med.or.jp
Mediaawakusu Ascii
Meieki Keizai
Menjoy!
Mid-Japan Economist
Mie Television
Minami Shinshu Newspaper
Minaminihon Broadcasting
Ministry Of Land Infrastructure And Trans
Ministry of Economy Trade and Industry
Ministry of Health Labour & Welfare Japan
Ministry of Health Labour & Welfare-TokaiHokuriku
Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications
Ministry of Justice Japan
Minyu-net
Mitani Corporation
Mito Keizai Biz
Mito Securities Co
Mitsubishi Heavy Industries
Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley
Mitsui Real Estate Sales
Miyanichi e-press
Miyazaki Telecasting
MobCastSports
Model Press
Mono Magazine
Monoist.atmarkit.co.jp
Morinaga Milk Industry
Morioka.Keizai.biz
Morning Star Japan
Morningstar Japan
Movie Collection.jp
Movie Plus.jp
Movie Walker
Movies Yahoo.co.jp
Mylohas.net
Mynavi.jp
N-Shokuei.jp
NB Shinbun
NEWS-postseven.com
NHK
NHK SPRING
NIHON DEMPA KOGYO
NIHS.go.jp
NIKON
NIPPON SHOKUBAI
NIPPON SYSTEMWARE
NITTO DENKO
NNA.asia
NOMURA
NORITAKE
NTT DATA
Nagano Broadcasting Systems
Nagano Nippo
Nagasaki Shimbun
Nagoya Small Medium Business Invest Con Co. Ltd
Naha.Keizai.biz
Namba Keizai Biz
Natgeo.Nikkeibp.co.jp
National Consumer Affairs Center of Japan
National Institute of Technology and Evaluation
National Police Agency
Netafull.net
New Japan Radio
News Finance Yahoo.co.jp
News Week Japan
News goo
News.Jorudan.co.jp
News.Toremaga.com
News1st.jp
Niconico
Nifty
Nihon Shimbun Roren
Nihon Unisys
Nihonkai Shimbun
Nihonkai Telecasting
Nihonshika-Shinbunsya
Niigata Nippo
Nikkan Jidosha Shimbun
Nikkan SPA!
Nikkan Seni News
Nikkan Shikyou Tsushinsha
Nikkan Sports
Nikkei Business Online
Nikkei Trendy Net
Nikkei Venture
NikkeiBP
Nikkin
Nikkou Kougyou Shimbun
Nippon Antenna
Nippon Avionics
Nippon Cultural Broadcasting
Nippon Denko
Nippon Fine Chemical
Nippon Flour Mills
Nippon Signal
NishiNippon WEB
NissanChem.co.jp
Nissho Electronics
Nissin Electric
Nomura Research Institute
Nomura.co.jp
Number Web
Numero TOKYO
Nylon.jp
Nyukyou.jp
OLYMPUS OPTICAL
ONO SOKKI
OPTEX
ORIX
OYO
Odawara Hakone Keizai
Oi Electric
Oita Asahi Broadcasting
Oita Broadcast System
Okasan Securities Co
Okinawa Electric Power
Okinawa Times
On Off and Beyond
Oricon Biz Online
Oricon Style
Osaka Shinkin
PARAMOUNT BED
PAVONE-Style.com
PC Watch
PR Times
Payment Navi
Pen Online.jp
Peoples Daily Online Japan
Phile Web
Pi-chiku-park.com
Pia.co.jp
Pioneer Electronics
Playstation.com Japan
Potaru.com
President Inc.
QAB Ryukyu Asahi Broadcasting
R.E.port
RAB
RBB Today
RCC Broadcasting
RINNAI
RISFAX
RISO KAGAKU
RKK Kumamoto Broadcasting
RNC
RO69.jp
ROHM
RSK Broadcasting
RYOBI
RYOHIN KEIKAKU
Radio Broadcasting
Rakuten
Resona GR
Risa Partners
Rohto Pharmaceutical
Roppongi Keizai Biz
Ryoden Trading
Ryoutan Nichinichi Journal
Ryukyu Shimpo
SATV
SBIC West Japan
SCSK
SEARCHINA
SHIMA SEIKI MFG
SHIZUOKA BANK
SMK
SO-EN Online
Saga Shimbun
Saitama Shimbun
Sakae Keizai
San-Ei Shobo Online
Sanden.co.jp
Sangyou Times
Sankei Living Shimbun
Sankei.com
SankeiBiz
Sannichi
Sanyo Shimbun
Sapporo Keizai
Sapporo TV
Scan NetSecurity
Sccj-Ifscc
Security Next
Seino Transportation
Sekai Nippo
Sendai.Keizai.biz
Senken
Seotools.jp
Shibukei Keizai Shimbun
Shikoku Shimbun
Shimizu Bank
Shimokita Keizai Biz
Shimotsuke Shimbun
Shin Shunan Shimbun
Shin-etsu Broadcasting
Shinagawa Keizai Shimbun
Shinao Mainichi Shimbun
Shinbashi Keizai Biz
Shinchosha Foresight
Shinjuku.Keizai.biz
Shizugin TM
Shizuoka Telecasting
Shodanren.gr.jp
Shokuhin Shimbun
Shonai Nippo Press
Shonan Keizai
Shueisha
Shufuren.net
So-Net
Soccer-King.jp
Sodick
Softbank Business
Soliton Systems KK
Sony Corporation
SourceForge.jp
Spark-Ginger.jp
Sponichi Annex
Straight Press.jp
Strategic Scenario
Sumitomo Forestry
Sumitomo Metal Mining
Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
SunBridge
Switch-store.net
T.Pia.jp
TAS
TBC Skip
TDK
TEC
TEIJIN
TKJ.jp
TOA
TOPPAN PRINTING
TOS TV Oita
TRANSIT NE.jp
TV Asahi
TV Nagasaki Broadcasting
TV Tokyo
TVQ Kyushu Broadcasting
Tachikawa.Keizai.biz
Taikisha
Takasaki Keizai Biz
Takeda Chemical Industries
TargetTech.ITmedia.co.jp
Techable
Teikoku Databank
Tekko Shimbun
Television Iwate
Television Nishinippon Corporation
Television U Fukushima
Tenjin.Keizai.biz
The Daily Manila Shimbun - Philippines
Think IT
Ticket - Pia.jp
Tobu Yomiuri Shimbun
Tokai Nichinichi Shimbunsha
Tokai Television Broadcasting
Tokushima Shimbun
Tokyo Broadcasting System
Tokyo Electric Power
Tokyo FM
Tokyo Management Research
Tokyo News Service
Tokyo Shimbun
Tokyo Shoko Research
Tokyo Sports
Tokyo Star Bank
Tokyo-calendar.jp
TokyoBay.Keizai.biz
Tomakomai Nippo
Topics SMT Docomo
Toyokeizai Online
Traders Securities Co
UCC Good Coffee Smile
Ube Nippousha
Umeda Keizai Biz
Ure.Pia.co.jp
Value Press
Veritacafe
Video Watch
Vogue Japan
WEB-NILE
WIRED.jp
WTV
WWD Japan.com
WWF Japan
Walkerplus
Web Chronos
Web Domani
Web Magazine OPENERS
Web Tokachi
WebCG
WebRonza
Webuomo.jp
Weekly-Economist.com
Wie geht's?
Windows Forest
WirelessWire News
WithOnline.jp
WoW Korea
Woman.Mynavi.jp
Xilinx Inc.
Yaeyama Mainichi Shimbun
Yahoo! Japan
Yakuji Nippo
Yakult
Yamagata Community News Online
Yamagata-np.jp
Yamaguchi Keizai Biz
Yamaguchi Shimbun
Yokohama Keizai
Yokosuka Keizai
Yomerumo News
Yomiuri Telecasting Corporation
Yucasee Media
Yukanmie
Yutaka Securities
ZAKZAK
Zaikei.co.jp

Lexis - Articles

Lexis - Business Sources

Doing Business in Japan
by Zentaro Kitagawa, General Editor (Lexis) - Includes commentary on business related law, plus translations of some relevant statues.
Intellectual Property Protection in Asia
Includes a chapter on Japan. In today's global business environment, knowledge of the intellectual property laws of the Asian countries and the manner in which they are administered is essential. This work will help you determine where, when, and how to establish and exercise rights to intellectual property in eight of the most important Asian countries.
Japan Company Handbook
The Japan Company Handbook contains the latest financial information on all Japanese corporations listed in the First and Second Sections of the Tokyo, Osaka, and Nagoya stock exchanges. The handbook is well-known for its accurate forecasts which are based upon research and studies conducted by Toyo Keizai, Inc.

Westlaw - Research Basics

Westlaw has sources available to help you locate: 1) news, 2) journal articles, 3) legal analysis, and 4) law related business information about Japan.

Westlaw
Comprehensive legal research system for researching primary law (cases, statutes, administrative materials, etc.) and secondary sources (treatises, law reviews, etc.). Free to UC Law SF students, faculty and staff. Registration required.
Practical Law: Global
Practical Law (from Westlaw) provides access to extensive global research guides and subject-based country comparison tools.
Practical Law: Global - Japan
The Practical Law resources on Westlaw offer a rich collection of up-to-date in-depth content including Practice Notes, Standard Documents and Clauses, Checklists, Toolkits, Legal Updates, Country-by-Country Legal Research Guidance, Country Comparison Tools, and Subject Specific Practice Resources.

There are several ways to locate Japanese legal resources in Westlaw & Practical Law. You can search all of Westlaw, or all of the Westlaw Practical Law resources, or you can select specific topics to browse and search.

Westlaw - News

News
U.S. & international news sources will include information about legal issues in Japan. Includes newspapers, broadcast transcripts, journals, magazines, newsletters, & blogs.
Legal Newspapers & Newsletters
Japan Newspapers
Japan Newswires

News sources include:

The Japan News
A newspaper covering news and events in Japan. Formerly titled: Daily Yomiuri and The Yomiuri Shimbun.
Nikkei Asian Review
A newspaper covering financial news and events in Japan.
Kyodo News
A newswire distributing press releases in Japan. Formerly titled: Japan Economic Newswire.

Westlaw - Articles

Westlaw Law Reviews & Journals
Search all Westlaw journals or select a topic to search
International Journals
Japan Journals, Magazines & Newsletters

Westlaw - Legal Analysis

The best resources with legal analysis of Japanese law in Westlaw will be located by selecting:

Westlaw Precision > Content Types tab > International Materials > Treatises > and then Multi-National

These subject-based multi-national treatises include analysis arranged by country. Examples include:

Comparative Environmental Law and Regulation
Chapter 56. Environmental Law of Japan—by Akio Morishima
I. Overview of Japan's Legal System
II. Environmental Laws
III. Implementation of Environmental Laws
IV. Practical Considerations
Appendices
Digest of Commercial Laws of the World
Chapter 30A. The Commercial Laws of Japan
International Family Law Practice
Transnational Litigation: A Practitioner's Guide - Chapter 18. Japan

Westlaw - Business Resources

Global Guides and Cross-Border Topics
Search all Global Guides and Cross-Border Topics or navigate to specific content (eg. legal systems, environmental law, data protection, arbitration, dispute resolution). Then filter to limit to Japan.
Cross-Border Dispute Resolution - Japan
Cross-Border Employment - Japan
Cross-Border Loan Financing - Japan
Cross-Border Private Company Acquisitions - Japan
Westlaw Practical law (U.S.) > Select Practice Areas > Arbitration > Countries > Japan.
Doing Business in Japan
This Q&A gives an overview of the legal system; foreign investment, including restrictions, currency regulations and incentives; and business vehicles and their relevant restrictions and liabilities. The article also summarises the laws regulating employment relationships, including redundancies and mass layoffs, and provides short overviews on competition law; data protection; and product liability and safety. In addition, there are comprehensive summaries on taxation and tax residency; and intellectual property rights over patents, trade marks, registered and unregistered designs.

Bloomberg Law & Bloomberg BNA

Bloomberg Law
Contains a limited amount of legal analysis of Japanese legal issues and good news sources. Registration required. Legal research platform with proprietary news and business resources from Bloomberg. Includes docket databases, company profiles and filings and corporate practice areas. Login with your UC Law SF email address and Bloomberg Law password.
Register for Bloomberg Law

Some of the best Bloomberg Law resources covering law in Japan include:

Japanese Law Research Guide: Lexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg Law