Japanese Law Research Guide: Japanese Law by Subject

Vol. 1A
This respected treatise provides unparalleled guidance to one of today's most complex and diverse areas of legal practice, international arbitration. Extensively revised and updated by leading authorities in the field, the World Arbitration Reporter (WAR) is the only integrated reference work containing detailed commentary and analysis on national legislation from more than 100 countries as well as information on the rules of procedure of more than 100 international and national arbitral institutions and the leading international arbitration treaties and agreements. This second edition brings together the work of more than 100 internationally renowned experts who have prepared thousands of pages of commentary and analysis, consisting of either reports of national law and practice, or reports on the rules and practice of major domestic and international institutions and concise analyses of major international treaties.

An annotated bibliography of works on Japanese law, in western languages (including English, German, French and Italian), including a guide to finding Japanese law on the Internet. Aimed primarily at researchers, teachers and students of Japanese law; practicing lawyers and other professional advisers; and librarians maintaining or building up a collection or selection of Japanese law resources.

The Annotated Constitution of Japan: A Handbook for the first time makes the entirety of Japan's constitution accessible in English. The book consists of a historical and contextual overview of how the constitution came into being, followed by descriptions of each of its 103 articles; the meaning of the text, interpretive disputes, academic theories and leading cases arising under them. The book also points out the many subtle distinctions between the English version and the Japanese, some of which arose from the charter's unique provenance. With contributors representing a broad range of expertise in various areas of Japanese law, the book is written to appeal to academics, students and general readers alike. It is intended to be the first port of call for anyone needing to understand the fundamentals of Japanese constitutional law, whether from the perspective of Japanese studies, comparative law, or political science, but unable to access the text and related literature available in Japanese. Key reference documents in English and Japanese are included as appendices for ease of reference.

See Chapter on: Criminal Law and Procedure

This book presents the only English language, up-to-date, and comprehensive reference to Japanese law. It covers a wide range of topics, from the fundamentals of the Japanese legal system, to the Civil Code which is the cornerstone of private law in Japan and business related laws in a comprehensive and analytical manner. The author presents the current state of Japanese law in operation by referring to numerous cases and the latest discussions. Since the last edition in 1999, Japanese law, in almost every area, has undergone substantial reform, all of which is reflected in the new text. In particular, the new edition contains the first comprehensive analysis of the new Company Law and the Financial Instruments and Exchange Law. This makes this book an essential reference work for all who have an interest in Japanese law

Volume 5.1, Grounds for rejecting criminal liability : Grounds for excluding criminal liability : Grounds for terminating or expunging criminal liability : Australia, Japan, Russia, Switzerland, Turkey, Uganda.

Includes a chapter on Japan.

Until recently, international environmental law was largely the focus of diplomatic discussions, treaty negotiations, and academic debates of interest to a group of passionate and patient attorneys working for governments and international nongovernmental organizations. With clients becoming multinational in nature and faced with a rapidly emerging and confusing regime of international environmental laws, understanding international environmental law is becoming a core skillset for every environmental attorney. International Environmental Law helps attorneys understand the unique ramifications of these laws, regardless of where they practice and whom they represent. Written by attorneys with extensive experience in the area, International Environmental Law provides an analytical framework to help practitioners advise clients, whether from law firms, in house, or within government and nongovernmental organizations. The book s authors provide a logical template for considering the most pertinent issues in international environmental law, including air and climate change, water, chemicals and hazardous materials, site remediation, emergency response, natural resource management, environmental review, and civil and criminal enforcement. The book examines the legal regimes in twenty-six key markets, as well as offering an informed discussion on global and cross-border issues.

Includes the chapter: "Environmental and Worker Safety Law in Japan: Recent Changes, the Impact of Reform Laws and Movements, and the Prospects for the Future" by Eri Osaka