Intellectual Property Research Guide

Multiple editions may be available.
This guide offers a broad summary of the law of intellectual property (i.e. patents, copyrights trademarks, trade secrets and a variety of other sui generis forms of protection for innovations and creativity) and the law of unfair competition (i.e. trademark infringement, passing off, trade disparagement, and deceptive advertising). It also touches on related fields of law (i.e. antitrust, consumer protection, regulated industries, and the law governing interference with contractual and noncontractual relations).

Foundations of patents, trademarks, and copyright laws. Authoritative treatment of all relevant doctrines and the latest statutory and judicial changes, with up-to-date coverage provided by associate professor of legal research, Dana Neacşu. Text further addresses relevant torts, property, antitrust, regulatory, and federalism intersections with intellectual property law.

This book provides a comprehensive survey of the entire field of intellectual property, including copyrights, patents, trademarks, trade secrets, unfair competition, and the right of publicity. It is designed to be reader-friendly and is up-to-date through October 2016, including many new important Supreme Court decisions in copyright, patent, and trademark law. It can be a study guide for an intellectual property survey course or used as a useful introduction or refresher for anyone interested in the field. The book focuses primarily on three main federal intellectual property rights – copyrights, patents, and trademarks – along with the new federal trade secret law and important areas of state law protection (such as the right of publicity).

There have been a number of important developments in U.S. intellectual property law since the third edition of Understanding Intellectual Property Law was published. Congress enacted the Defend Trade Secrets Act of 2016 to provide a federal civil cause of action for misappropriation of trade secrets for the first time. It also enacted the Music Modernization Act of 2018, which extends the compulsory license for musical works by creating a blanket license for digital music providers and provides federal protection to sound recordings fixed before February 15, 1972. And, of course, courts continue to work through the implications of earlier statutory revisions, such as the landmark America Invents Act of 2011. The Supreme Court has remained active in reviewing intellectual property cases during the past four years, deciding eighteen patent cases, four copyright cases, and five trademark cases. In addition, the federal Courts of Appeals decided more than 1000 patent cases, 230 copyright cases, and nearly 300 trademark and false advertising cases during that time. Having been updated to reflect this new material, the fourth edition of Understanding Intellectual Property Law covers all of the intellectual property areas and issues likely to be addressed in an intellectual property survey course.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
Here’s why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester:
Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style.
Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review.
It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic.
The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

This book brings famous cases to life by telling the true, never-heard-before stories behind landmark Intellectual Property cases. It is organized into six chapters, each drawing on cases in patents, copyrights, trademarks, or unfair competition, to illustrate the problems encountered in intellectual property law. The works, inventions, and marks at issue in these cases vary widely.
Contents
Story of INS v. AP : property, natural monopoly, and the uneasy legacy of a concocted controversy (unfair competition) / Douglas G. Baird -- Story of Wheaton v. Peters : a curious chapter in the history of judicature (copyright) / Craig Joyce -- Story of Bleistein v. Donaldson lithographing company : originality as a vehicle for copyright inclusivity (copyright) / Diane Leenheer Zimmerman -- Story of Graham v. John Deere Company : patent law's evolving standard of creativity (patents) / John F. Duffy, Robert P. Merges -- Story of Baker v. Selden : sharpening the distinction between authorship and invention (copyright) / Pamela Samuelson -- Story of Diamond v. Diehr : toward patenting software (patents) / Maureen A. O'Rourke -- Story of Kellogg Co. v. National Biscuit Co. : breakfast with Brandeis (trademarks and unfair competition) / Graeme B. Dinwoodie -- Story of Folsom v. Marsh : distinguishing between infringing and legitimate uses (copyright) / R. Anthony Reese -- Story of Graver Tank v. Linde : intellectual property infringement in flux (patents) / John R. Thomas -- Story of Diamond v. Chakrabarty : technological change and the subject matter boundaries of the patent system (patents) / Rebecca S. Eisenberg -- Story of Sony v. Universal Studios : Mary Poppins meets the Boston Stranger (copyright) / Jessica Litman -- Story of Steele v. Bulova : trademarks on the line (trademarks) / Graeme W. Austin.

The eighth edition of Understanding Copyright is a major revision of this classic student treatise. This edition reflects the substantial developing case law and legislative developments that have taken place since 2019. Along with other case law developments, the eighth edition includes an analysis of the eagerly awaited fair use decisions of Google LLC v. Oracle America, Inc. and Andy Warhol Foundation v. Goldsmith, the first time in several decades that the Supreme Court has ruled on this issue. As for congressional activity, this edition includes an overview of the Copyright Alternative in Small-Claims Enforcement Act of 2020 (the CASE Act), which establishes a small claims court-type system within the United States Copyright Office.

This product guides the reader through both the traditional topics, such as fair use, and more modern topics, such as the anti-circumvention provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, without getting bogged down in unnecessary or tedious detail. This title is ideal for end-of-semester review by students in both basic and advanced courses on copyright law, and also will be of use to practitioners and other legal professionals seeking a comprehensive yet manageable introduction to the subject.

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
Here’s why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester:
Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style.
Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review.
It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic.
The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

This product offers a compact yet comprehensive and up-to-date overview of U.S. copyright law in an uncluttered and readable format. Coverage ranges from the fundamental concepts of originality, authorship, and infringement to the highly technical rules governing digital phonorecord deliveries and digital public performance rights in sound recordings, the safe harbor provisions that limit the liability of Internet service providers, and the anti-circumvention and copyright management information provisions of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act. This updated edition includes detailed analysis of the changes introduced by the Music Modernization Act of 2018, as well as the creation of the Copyright Claims Board. The evolving doctrines of fair use and contributory liability are also given thorough attention.

Patent law is an important, fascinating, and rapidly changing field. This book was written for all who need to understand these recent changes, as well as for students in intellectual property courses. For those engaged in international practice, this work sheds helpful light on the key doctrines and theories underlying U.S. patent law.

More examples and explanatory material, as well as flow charts, have been included in this edition to provide some practical application of abstract or difficult concepts. The most significant areas of updated materials include the rapidly evolving law concerning statutory subject matter, nonobviousness, and the application of the America Invents Act. This work covers the latest U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including SAS Institute v. Iancu, Oil States Energy Services v. Greene's Energy Group, Helsinn Healthcare v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, and WesternGeco v. ION Geophysical Corporation.

The book also covers the major decisions of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Each chapter has been comprehensively updated to reflect those decisions that refine, explain, or modify the existing state of patent law. The Federal Circuit's Thaler opinion regarding artificial intelligence exclusion from inventorship is explained, the World Trade Organization's consideration of the treatment of intellectual property for the COVID-19 vaccines is discussed, and material that explains the European Union's Unitary Patent System has been added to provide real-world examples of the concepts covered in the fourth edition.

This Nutshell provides a succinct description of the fundamentals of U.S. patent law. Ranging from the acquisition of patent rights to their enforcement, it contains an overview of relevant statutes, rules, and cases that collectively define this area of intellectual property law. Topics include claim construction, obviousness, anticipation, written description and enablement, infringement, remedies, and other notable doctrines. Patent law has evolved quickly in the past few years. This Nutshell captures those changes and relates them well to the overall fabric of intellectual property law. This reference is suitable for use by those with a beginner’s knowledge of patent law, but it has sufficient depth to be instructive for every practitioner in this exciting and dynamic field.

This study guide uses multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of patent law doctrine. Each multiple-choice question is accompanied by a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question (designed to be answered in no more than fifteen minutes) is followed by a thoughtful, yet brief, model answer. Q & A: Patent Law also includes a comprehensive topical index.

The new edition of this leading text on patent law is an indispensable tool for both students and practitioners. The authoritative exposition of the law includes thoughtful analysis of the intricacies of the America Invents Act, in-depth discussion of nearly twenty recent Supreme Court decisions on patent law, and thorough treatment of all the leading Federal Circuit precedents. The volume also contains detailed materials on international issues, trade secret law, and specialized topics including plant patents, design patents and the Hatch-Waxman Act. The accessible prose, numerous illustrative examples, and humorous asides make the book user-friendly even for those who lack previous exposure to the field.

This treatise is a comprehensive and up-to-date guide to the law of trademarks and unfair competition. It provides a thorough introduction to the federal laws protecting registered trademarks and trade dress, as well as the broad array of federal and state unfair competition doctrines which protect unregistered trademarks and trade dress. Coverage includes the standards and procedures for obtaining federal registration, the rights and remedies available to owners of both registered and common law marks under federal and state law, and the full array of applicable defenses.

This item is available at the library circulation desk.

This Nutshell includes a section about trademarks on the Internet.

Global Internet Law in a Nutshell presents a very timely overview of legal issues that arise from the World Wide Web. Topics include Internet-driven technologies such as Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning Bitcoins, The Internet of Things, 3D Products Liability, and Driverless Cars. This edition emphasizes the legal and policy issues arising out of social media such as Twitter’s decision to permanently ban President Trump from its platform. The goal is to provide the reader with an up-to-date summary of the most important new cases and statutory developments. Each chapter provides the latest developments in Internet Law from the European Union such as the General Data Protection Regulation, which is setting a global standard for privacy and data protection. Each chapter has examples and explanations of Internet Law developments from around the world. This Nutshell provides global coverage of recurring Internet issues that lawyers and law students will encounter in practice. It also serves as a useful introduction for non-lawyers and graduate as well as undergraduate students in diverse disciplines such as computer science, business, nursing, sociology, law and society and criminology.

This text provides a comprehensive treatment of the law of trademark, unfair competition, false advertising, and the right of publicity.