LibGuides: Intellectual Property Research Guide: U.S. IP Databases

💻 U.S. IP Online Databases

Explore a curated list of databases that offer comprehensive access to IP-related materials. These platforms are essential for both doctrinal research and practical IP work.

HeinOnline Intellectual Property Law Collection
This database focuses on United States copyright, trademark, and patent law resources. It includes the Official Gazette of the U.S. Patent Office, almost 700 books and 65 periodicals related to IP law, legislative histories, Title 37 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Titles 17 and 35 of the United States Code, patent and trademark administrative decisions, and more.
Lexis Practical Guidance: Intellectual Property & Technology
Collection of practice notes, templates, practical articles, and checklists for IP attorneys. Also includes tools like Practice Videos to help you gain practical insights on key legal issues featuring experts in the field.
All Tools & Resources

more... less...

Automated Templates
Build your document based on answers you supply to an interactive questionnaire.
Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources
Access coronavirus guidance and updates from across all practice areas.
Legal Developments
Get impact analysis and end-to-end coverage of emerging legal developments in your practice area.
Legal Standard Surveys
Identify legal standards with supporting authority for specific claims and motions in various jurisdictions.
Local Rules Guides
Pinpoint necessary local court rules for a particular task in a specific jurisdiction.
Market Standards
Market Standards is a tool that helps you search for comparable transactions and agreements and analyze trends in drafting and negotiating.
Market Trends
Gain insight into current trends in the legal market.
Practical Guidance Journal
Current awareness and developing guidance from leading attorneys.
Practice Videos
Gain practical insights on key legal issues featuring experts in the field.
Presentations
Provides training on legal and compliance issues.
Resource Kits
View all relevant practical guidance for a specific task.
State Law Comparison Tool
Compare laws across multiple states in a customized chart or report.
State Law Surveys
Compare laws across multiple states on key legal issues.
Trackers
Monitor statutory, case law, and regulatory developments.
Westlaw Intellectual Property Practice Area Page
This page provides convenient access to all of Westlaw's intellectual property content, including cases, statutes, regulations, administrative decisions, secondary sources, briefs, and more.

U.S. Copyright Online Databases

United States Copyright Office
The United States Copyright Office maintains a searchable copyright database and provides information about registering a copyright.
Westlaw U.S. Copyright Search
Search materials sent to the U.S. Copyright Office for registration and recordation since January 1978.

more... less...

Content Highlights:
Materials sent to the U.S. Copyright Office for registration and recordation, namely, serial works, monographic works, and documents relating to copyright (registrations and preregistrations for books, music, films, sound recordings, maps, software, photographs, art, multimedia, periodicals, magazines, journals, newspapers, etc., as well as records for assignments, transfers, and other documents relating to copyright ownership). Coverage begins with January 1978. Updated weekly.
Westlaw Copyright Secondary Sources
Search all of Westlaw's secondary sources that provide copyright law guidance.
Lexis Copyright Law Resources
Search all Lexis copyright materials, including primary and secondary sources, court filings, directories, and news.
Bloomberg Law Trademarks & Copyrights
Browse or search news, legal analysis, laws and regulations, and practice tools. Read expert insights and updates on the latest copyright court decisions. (Access is restricted to UC Law SF faculty, students, and staff. Members of the UC Law SF community can create an account using their UC Law SF e-mail address.)

U.S. Trademark Online Databases

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
This website provides recent policy and statutory changes and searchable databases of federally registered trademarks and pending registrations (with PDFs of documents in hundreds of thousands of trademark applications.
Westlaw Trademarks
Search trademarks registered in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, World Intellectual Property Association (WIPO), European Community, and selected other countries.
Lexis Trademark Law Resources
Search all Lexis trademark materials, including primary and secondary sources, court filings, directories, and news.
Bloomberg Law Trademarks & Copyrights
Read expert insights, the latest trademark & unfair trade practice decisions, and access laws and regulations, legal analysis, and practice tools. (Access is restricted to UC Law SF faculty, students, and staff. Members of the UC Law SF community can create an account using their UC Law SF e-mail address.)

U.S. Patent Online Databases

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
This website provides information on the basics of patent law, FAQs, patent searching, how to file for a patent, more. It also hosts the:
USPTO Official Gazette for Patents
the official weekly journal of the USPTO. The Gazette includes bibliographic information and drawings for each patent granted.
Westlaw Patents & Applications
Search United States patents & applications, applications filed with the World Intellectual Property Organization, and applications filed in some Asian and European countries. (Accessible only with Westlaw login credentials; UC Law SF students, faculty, and staff only.)
Practical Law Patent Counseling & Transactions
Collects resources such as practice notes, standard documents, checklists, articles, and country Q&As related to counseling and transaction practices.
Practical Law Patent Litigation
Provides practical resources to support patent litigators, such as:
Video and audio

more... less...

Practice notes
Standard documents
Standard clauses
Checklists
Toolkit
Articles
Legal Updates
Lexis Patent Law Resources
Search all Lexis patent materials, including primary and secondary sources, court filings, directories, and news.
USPTO Patent Decisions
includes BPAI and PTAB decisions going back as far as 1928.
Search precedential BPAI and PTAB decisions
Search nonprecedential BPAI and PTAB decisions
Bloomberg Law Patents & Trade Secrets
provides news, legal analysis, legislative and regulatory watch pages, a PTAB Challenge Navigator tool, and legal insights written by practitioners.

Patent Searching

TotalPatent One
Patent search and analytics platform developed by LexisNexis Intellectual Property Solutions. It's designed to provide fast, comprehensive, and user-friendly access to global patent data, including patent family reports. Updated daily. Detailed coverage for

more... less...

full text, bibliographic, abstracts, searchable English machine translations, PDFs and images.
Patent Public Search
free and open database from the USPTO.

Patent Law Dockets and Court Filings

Docket Navigator
Tracks every significant event in every patent infringement case in the U.S. district courts, patent infringement investigations in the ITC, and every IPR and CBM proceeding in the PTAB. Includes alerts and analytics. Law students and faculty must send name, graduation date, and law school email address to contact@docketnavigator.com for access.