State and Local Government Law Research Guide: Primary Law

Municipal Codes online from

• American Legal Publishing - online library of selected municipal codes
• CA Municipal codes online from UC Berkeley, Inst. for Governmental Studies. The IGS Library maintains a large depository collection of local ordinance codes and charters issued by California cities and counties. Their web site includes a list of currently available codes and charters issued in loose-leaf format; links are provided to electronic editions, when available
• Code Publishing's eLibrary.
• LexisAdvance has selected municipal codes from 34 states.
• Municode.com
• Municipal and County Codes and Ordinances - Findlaw's list of California codes

San Francisco Municipal Codes are available on the Internet; each code is in a separate searchable database published by American Legal Publishing Corporation. The San Francisco City Charter and the City and County of San Francisco Municipal Code are available at the Reference Desk.

Westlaw has forms related to municipal law in AmJur Legal Forms Municipal Law

California

Official California Legislative Information is the official site for California legislative information maintained by the Legislative Counsel of California, pursuant to California law. There is a great deal of useful information available at this site including:

• Bill Information, which includes the full text of bills, resolutions, and constitutional amendments, with status, history, votes, analyses, and veto messages. This is a great source for California legislative history information for bills from 1993 through current. A newer version of the site with more search features is here
• Today's Events (Assembly); Senate Events (Senate), which include the daily legislative calendars.
• California Law, which includes the current California Code.

California Bills, other sources: 

• Bills from 1867 to current are available in print at the San Francisco Law Library.
• Bills from 1963 to current are available in fiche in the Micrographics Room.

California Code of Regulations  The unofficial California Code of Regulations (CCR) web site contains the text of the regulations that have been formally adopted by state agencies, reviewed and approved by the Office of Administrative Law, and filed with the Secretary of State.  The Official version known as Barclays Official California Code of Regulations, is available in loose-leaf printed format at the First Floor Library.

California Ballot Propositions and Initiative Database -- searchable database of California Ballot materials (1911- present)

California Attorney General Opinions from 1986 to current are available at the Office of the Attorney General Website and can be searched by word, phrase or opinion number (e.g., 01-107).  There is also a monthly opinion report current for pending assignments and activities of the Opinion Unit with links to newly issued opinions. Attorney General Opinions from 1943 to current are available in the 4th Floor Stacks (KFC780 .A55) and from 1852 to 1943 in Micrographics (KF5406.A619 A88).

Selected California Trial court orders and documents are available on Westlaw

Docket information is available for the California Supreme Court and the Courts of Appeal on the California Courts web page. Docket information for the superior courts in California may be available online from individual court web sites. You can find a superior court web site through the California Courts' Find A Court page.

Federal

GovInfo is the official online Federal Government information service provided by the US Government Printing Office. GPO's Federal Digital System provides access to the full-text of numerous government publications including: The Federal Register; The Congressional Record; Congressional Bills, House & Senate Calendars, Congressional Reports; the Congressional Directory; Public Laws; the US Government Manual; and the United States Code.

ProQuest Congressional 
Provides comprehensive access to US legislative documents and congressional publications from Congressional Information Service, Inc. 
Proquest Legislative Insight 
Includes compiled legislative histories, legislative documents and congressional publications related to enacted laws.

Congress.gov is a service provided by the Library of Congress. It contains the full text of all versions of House and Senate bills (101st - current congress) , as well as the full text of The Congressional Record (101st - current congress) and Committee Reports (104th - current congress).

Dockets and selected trial court documents are availble on BloombergLaw