LibGuides: State and Local Government Law Research Guide: Journal Articles

Law Reviews

Sometimes law review articles can be one of the best places to find current research on your topic. These sources can be used to find journal articles. Although there is a lot of overlap on Lexis and Westlaw, unique articles can be found in both databases.

Indexes
Indexes are the best way to begin your search because you are searching just subjects, titles and authors. For broad topic research-- this will lead you to the essential law review articles on a topic.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (covers mostly US law reviews and other publications)
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline) (covers law reviews not published in US)

Full Text Databases

Westlaw Full-Text Law Reviews : Search the full text of all Westlaw's journals, law reviews and newsletters.
HeinOnline : HeinOnline offers full-text PDFs of law reviews and legal periodicals. Click on "Law Journal Library" to browse by title. Use the Search tab at the top to search the collection.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an important free research tool that allows you to search a broad range of article databases (including Heinonline, Jstor and SSRN) and online scholarship repositories with one search. Results are ranked by the number of citations to an article.

SSRN

SSRN Legal Scholarship Network hosts working papers and articles in final and pre-publication form.

Non-Law and Law Related Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles and e-books covering general disciplines including Arts & Sciences; Business; Life Sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of a wide array of multidisciplinary academic journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest aggregated full-text database of journal articles, magazines, newspapers and dissertations for information on a broad range of general reference subjects such as business, political science, art, literature and psychology. Search 24 databases at ProQuest central or choose a subject database.

Google Scholar : Try searching Google Scholar. (You may then need to locate the full-text using Lexis or Westlaw or one of the library's subscription databases.)
San Francisco Public Library Articles & Databases: - San Francisco Public Library cardholders may remotely access SFPL's online periodical databases, including JSTOR (full-text academic journals going back to 1838). Click on the "Articles & Databases" link to search for a specific journal.