Race, Racism & American Law

Coverage: 1789 - current. Federal legislative history resource comprised of fully searchable PDFs of congressional legislative documents. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints.

As a companion to Legislative Insight, Regulatory Insight offers U.S. federal administrative law histories for the period 1936-2014 organized by federal statute and Executive Order. Regulatory Insight creates regulatory histories for individual federal statutes and Executive Orders by compiling pertinent Federal Register articles into a research-friendly workspace similar to the workspace provided in Legislative Insight.

Complete online collection of full opinions from United States Supreme Court argued cases, including decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Coverage begins in 1975.

This one-of-a-kind research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as federal government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. Content includes: Pre-1948: claims presented to Congress and/or brought before the Court of Claims; 1948-1978: Indian Claims Commission, including briefs, docket books, decisions, expert testimony, oral transcripts;Post-1978: Claims brought before the US Court of Claims (through 1982) and US Court of Federal Claims (through 2006); documents related to post-2006 settlement of claims; legislative histories and congressional publications directly related to Indian claims, including congressional publications indexed by docket numbers; important Supreme Court decisions; and maps.

HeinOnline’s Civil Rights database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.

Treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes and constitutions.

- Voting Rights Resource Kit
- Protesters' Rights Resource Kit
- Racial Equality and Police Reform Kit

Covers the political, social, and cultural history of the native peoples of the US & Canada from the 16th to the 20th century. Topics include trade, communication, Arctic exploration, the Iroquois Confederation, Canadian Catholic Indian missions, Indian removal, Indian wars, Indian delegations, Indian-federal relations, Indian treaty policy, missionary schools, the allotment system, Alaskan Indian policies, Indian languages, assimilation, relocation, termination, the Indian Claims Commission, water rights, fishing rights, civil rights, radicalism, and the American Indian movement.

The Serial Set provides in-depth, detailed contemporaneous 19th Century documentation of political, military, and governmental activities related to indigenous peoples of the continental United States and Alaskan territory.

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.