English Legal History Research Guide

More than 160 British newspapers scanned from the holdings of the British Library. British Library Newspapers (1732-1950) delivers a wide range of local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. This collection documents diverse and distinct regional attitudes, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years.

The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, containing approximately 1,270 titles. Collected by the British Library.

Subscription includes Part I (135,000 printed works printed in the UK between 1701 and 1800) and Part II (More than 50,000 additional 18th Century titles published in the UK and the Americas, with an emphasis on literature, social science, and religion.) This collection includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, and more.

This collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, England. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format.

The Sunday Times Historical Archive includes the London based Sunday Times newspaper from 1822-2016. Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times (London) until 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own perspective on the news.

The Daily Telegraph, known online and elsewhere as The Telegraph, is a national British daily broadsheet newspaper first published in London in 1855, and distributed across the United Kingdom and internationally. The Telegraph Historical Archive provides an important alternative voice to other national UK dailies such as The Times and The Independent. The Telegraph Historical Archive covers 1855-2016, and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961.

The Times Digital Archive (UK) is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (UK), one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. Published in London, England. [Coverage: 1785 to 2014]