English Legal Research Guide

Commercially published reporter that contains cases in a specific subject area.

A reference book that catalogs the commonly used names of legal cases from Australia and England. Instead of relying solely on formal legal citations, the book focuses on the popular or colloquial names by which cases are often referred to in academic, professional, and casual legal discussions.

The book is valuable for law students, researchers, and practitioners who need to quickly identify cases based on their well-known names. It serves as a bridge between the formal language of case law and the informal ways cases are discussed and remembered. This work likely includes brief details about each case, such as the parties involved, the year of decision, and possibly its significance in legal history or jurisprudence.

A well-regarded legal publication specializing in reporting cases primarily related to maritime law, commercial law, and arbitration. Established in the early 20th century, it is a critical resource for legal professionals working in industries such as shipping, insurance, and international trade.

The reports provide comprehensive coverage of judgments from courts in the United Kingdom and other jurisdictions that address significant commercial and maritime disputes. Each case includes a detailed summary of the facts, the legal arguments presented, and the court's reasoning and decision. These reports are often cited in legal arguments and scholarly work due to their authoritative nature.

A yearly publication that provides an in-depth summary and analysis of significant legal developments in England and Wales. Published by LexisNexis, it complements the All England Law Reports by offering a comprehensive overview of key judgments, legislative changes, and evolving legal principles from the preceding year.

The annual review is structured thematically, covering major areas of law such as contract, tort, criminal law, property law, family law, and public law. It highlights the most influential cases, examining their facts, legal reasoning, and implications for practitioners, academics, and students.

A legal reporting series published by the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting (ICLR) for England and Wales. Established in 1953, it provides timely and authoritative coverage of significant court decisions across various areas of law. The WLR is an essential resource for legal professionals who need access to recent case law.

The series reports cases from courts such as the Court of Appeal, the High Court, and the Supreme Court (and its predecessor, the House of Lords). Each report includes the full text of judgments, a summary of the legal issues, and key facts of the case, making it a practical tool for understanding judicial reasoning and its application.

The WLR is issued in three volumes annually:

Volume 1: Covers cases of general legal interest.
Volume 2: Focuses on cases of specialized importance.
Volume 3: Includes selected judgments from public and private law cases.
The WLR is designed to provide a more accessible and cost-effective alternative to the official Law Reports, offering current legal professionals reliable and concise insights into recent developments in English law.