Chinese Law Research Guide

If you do not have a login you will need to:

Contains important legal news from 2000 to the present.

Sign in with your student Westlaw account.

Broad access to up-to-date news about China, with searchable texts of government position papers and a wealth of basic information about Chinese history, politics, economics, and culture. It is also one of the major authorized government portal sites in China and publishes a well-organized directory to search:

Legal news section. Online news aggregator compiles commentary from around the world about China

Original coverage of developments in Chinese law from the Center on U.S.-China Relations at Asia Society

and to locate

Current news on China’s technology policy developments.

A summary of newly promulgated laws, regulations, and judicial interpretations

Current updates on the National People's Congress (NPC) and its Standing Committee

Selected news stories about law in China.

USALI's bi-weekly essays about developments in East Asia law

A group blog focusing primarily on law and related items in modern China.
There is a corresponding email listserv called:

Current technology policy developments in China.

Updates by the U.S. Law Library of Congress on legal issues in China

Covers a wide variety of national security topics related to China. See subjects

Daily newsletter providing analysis, commentary and curated links to the important English and Chinese news of the day. Most content is only available to paid subscribers. Seminar students should reach out to Prof. Hand for a subscription.

Blog by Susan Finder (School of Transnational Law of Peking University) covering the Supreme People's Court

Described here, this institute provides access to Chinese documents of historic value.

Archived commentary (2009-2016) on trade disputes between the U.S. and China (BakerHostetler LLP)

By Lehman, Lee & Xu, China's third largest, corporate commercial law firm.

Current information and analysis on China from the Jamestown Foundation.

An online resource by the Center on U.S.-China Relations at Asia Society, includes original reporting and analysis across a wide spectrum of topics including a section on law:

Focuses on legal development and reform in China

By law firm Harris Bricken

User generated translations of legal news and laws with commentary and analysis

Aggregated China Law Information. This allows you to look at several China law blogs at once

Covers 2007-2013 posts by Prof Carl Minzner (Fordham Law School).

The Philip K.H. Wong Center for Chinese law posts cutting-edge research on Chinese law

Current China trade news posted by Diaz Trade Law.

Discusses the latest cases, laws, rules, and guidelines impacting Chinese IP law

A blog by Prof Mark Cohen focusing on Chinese intellectual property law

Prof Danny Friedmann's posts on intellectual property in China.

Listen to stories about business and legal issues in Asia.

Lawyers Art Dicker & Agnes Wang

Interviews with experts on subjects that impact U.S.-China relations. Archival. Last episode in 2009.

China Law & Practice podcasts hosted by Vincent Chow

Includes podcasts on China

Click the podcast tab for more information on the weekly podcasts covering business in China and Asia

From Peking University School of Transnational Law

Current affairs in China

Podcast series
Archival: Last episode in 2021

Covers Chinese politics, economics, law, and society

May 2022 - John Foote, International trade & customs lawyer

April 2022 - Amy Gadsden, Executive Director for Penn Global

February 2022 - Jeremy Daum of Yale's Paul Tsai China Law Center

September 2021 - Dr Hao Zhang, Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Law, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

July 2021 - Lester Ross and Kenneth Zhou, WilmerHale

June 2021 - Prof Elizabeth Fruend Larus, University of Mary Washington

July 2020 - Jen Patja Howell

July 2020 - The Brookings Institution Podcast Series

June 2020 - Prof Sheena Chestnut Greitens

June 2020 - The Bookings Institution Podcast Series

June 2020 - Global From Asia podcast

April 2011 - Discussing intellectual property concerns and other issues in China business and law

News about U.S. China relations

Latest news and background information on China

Online news aggregator compiles commentary from around the world about China

Analysis of Chinese financial markets by Michael Pettis, Professor at Peking University’s Guanghua School of Management

Commentary and analysis on China’s economy, society and global impact

English translations of articles by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) from original news sources. This segment from Readex covers news from China from 1974 to 1996.

Chinese language version of Google News

Search news by region or country:

The "official" newspaper online.

Also available on Lexis

Also available on Lexis

English translations by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) from original news sources covering 1993 to 2013. WNC is a highly recommended resource for researchers interested in getting good translations of original broadcast and print news. It is for historical research since the WNC service was discontinued in 2013. The advantage to the WNC files is that most of them are translations of sources from the original Chinese. Because the English language Xinhua and China Daily articles are intended for a foreign audience, the news is different and researchers looking for more reliable news sources tend to give original Chinese articles (or translations of) greater weight.