LibGuides: Global Indigenous Law Research: UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

Resources for Choosing a Topic

Although you can use any of the resources on this guide to pick a topic, these are some introductory resources that help you to get the lay of the land and see what issues are current. You can come back to this page throughout your research process to get clarity on a particular concept using the encyclopedia and dictionaries, or to run a broad search once you have a clearer idea of your topic.

Video Intro to the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

Podcasts

Definitions and Brief Explanations: Dictionaries and Encyclopedia

Indigenous Peoples, Treaties with Gudmundur Alfredsson
Entry from Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law [MPEPIL].
If you have difficulty accessing this document from off campus, login using the link below.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) is a comprehensive online resource containing over 1600 peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law.
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest Sample Search
Search: "United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples"

Legal Memos on the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

JD Supra

News

All News Databases available through UC Law SF Library

U.S. News

You can run a search for your specific topic in these general news sources.

Bloomberg Terminal News Search
Sample Search: "Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples" OR "Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples "
more...less...
Search across many news sources at once. Some of the results will take you to a website with a paywall. If this happens, you may still be able to access that article using a different subscription database. Try looking for the title of that publication in one of the other subscription databases linked to on this page.
Westlaw (News) Sample Search
HLD("Special Rapporteur #on the Rights #of Indigenous Peoples" OR "Declaration #on the Rights #of Indigenous Peoples")
more...less...
Free to UC law SF students, faculty and staff. Registration required. Major US newspapers include: Boston Globe (1980-), Chicago Tribune (1985-), Christian Science Monitor (1989-), Los Angeles Times (1985-), New York Times (1980-), New Orleans Times Picayune (1989-), Philadelphia Inquirer (1983-), San Francisco Chronicle (1988-), USA Today (1989-), Washington Post (1978-).
Newspaper Source Sample Search
AB("Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples" OR "Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples ")
more...less...
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
ProQuest US Newsstream Sample Search
summary("Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples" OR "Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples ")
more...less...
Access to more than 1,000 US newspapers including the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal. (Coverage: 1980 - current.)

Legal News

Lexis Legal News Hub Sample Search
Log into Lexis before clicking through the link above.
Search: "Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples" OR "Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples "
Law.com
You'll need to run your own searches in these resources.
Access to ALM legal news publications including: The National Law Journal, The American Lawyer, The San Francisco Recorder, and The Legal Intelligencer.
Westlaw Legal News Sample Search
Search: "Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples" OR "Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples"
National and State legal news.

Historical News

In the below resources, you can run a search for your specific area of interest.

Accessible Archives Complete
Accessible Archives provides access to archived historical information related to American history and culture previously available only in microform or obscure print collections.
America's Historical Newspapers (Readex)
This Readex America’s Historical Newspapers subscription covers: 1) American newspapers, 1690-1829 and 2) District of Columbia newspapers, 1790-1890.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
A digital Repository of historical California newspapers published 1846-1922 (issues are 1846-present), as well as some current newspapers. Includes the Californian, the first California newspaper, and the Daily Alta California, the first daily California newspaper. Created and maintained by the University of California, Riverside Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research.<
Chronicling America
Historical American newspapers (1789-1963) archived by the Library of Congress.
New York Times with Index (1851-2017) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Indexed, full-text PDFs of the New York Times from 1851 through 2017. [For post-2017 coverage, use Lexis+ or https://www.nytimes.com.]
Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers
Digital images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers, including the L.A. Times and the San Francisco Weekly Star. Coverage: 1800-1899
United States Online Historical Newspapers
Search over 140 million newspaper pages from 1609 to present day. Includes newspaper archives from Australia, Canada, Ireland, Mexico, UK, and US. Use the drop-down menu in upper-right corner to navigate.
Wall Street Journal (1889-2001) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Indexed, full-text coverage the Wall Street Journal from 1889 through 2001. [For post-2001 coverage, use Lexis+ or https://www.wsj.com.]
Washington Post (1877-2002) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Indexed, full-text coverage of the Washington Post from 1877 through 2002. [For post 2002 coverage use Westlaw.]