Research to Write Scholarly Legal or Interdisciplinary Papers

Documents are obtained directly from the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Senate, as well as authoritative U.S. government publications, including: - Treaty Documents: Treaties transmitted to the Senate for consideration, usually including transmittal messages from the President and the Secretary of State. - Slip Documents: Treaties and international agreements released by the US Department of State, but not yet printed in TIAS. - Treaties and Other International Acts Series (T.I.A.S) from 1985 - official slip treaty publication from the Government Printing Office (GPO). - US Treaties and Other International Agreements (U.S.T.) 1949-1984 - permanent form of official treaty publication. - Bevan's Treaties and Other International Agreements 1776-1949 - the definitive retrospective compilation of US treaties and agreements. In addition to treaties that are "in-force", this compilation includes older terminated, superseded, or abolished treaties for your historical research needs. To determine if a particular treaty or international agreement is still in force, please refer to the latest edition of the U.S. Department of State's publication, U.S. Treaties In Force, on the LexisNexis services. Each document will have a LEXIS Cite, and where available, citations to Bevans, UST, and US Statutes at Large. Cites will be LEXSEEable, and links will be provided in the body of the documents. Related Files on LexisNexis: For treaty legislative histories, please see CIS Legislative Histories. For selected treaties and agreements where the US is not a party, see the publication International Legal Materials (ILM) from the American Society of International Law. For tax treaties, please see CCH World Tax Treaties.

North American Free Trade Agreement Coverage of international treaties begins with volume 8 Statutes at Large (1778) through volume 64 (1949) when United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (U.S.T.) became the official publication.

Coverage for U.S.T. begins with volume 1 part 1 and continues through volume 35 part IV (TIAS 10978, 1984). Subsequent treaties and other international agreements published in the Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS) from TIAS No. 10979 forward are also included.

Senate Treaty Document coverage begins with the 103rd Congress (1993), and State Department documents with State Dept. No. 90-1 (1990). Coverage also includes ""Case-Zablocki Act"" documents transmitted by the Secretary of State to the Congress beginning with 1990 transmittals. New Senate and State Department documents are added as they are made available by the government.

The Final Act Embodying the Results of the Uruguay Round of Multilateral Trade Negotiations General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (G.A.T.T.) and the text of the North American Free Trade Agreement Between the Government of the United States of America, the Government of Canada and the Government of the United Mexican States (N.A.F.T.A.) are included.

Parallel citations to the primary Stat, UST and TIAS citations are displayed when available.

A document is a treaty or other international agreement.

Print publications United States Statutes at Large and United States Treaties and Other International Agreements as well as Slip Copy obtained directly from the federal government for Westlaw.

Historical enactments passed during past sessions of Congress and Presidential Proclamations, beginning with the first session of First Congress through the second session of the 92nd Congress in PDF format. Coverage includes Public Laws passed by Congress. Statutes at Large volumes 6, 7, and 8, which contain treaties and Private Laws, are not included. The Westlaw search query will search the citation, date, and summary information of the content. The full-text of the content is found in the attached PDF file and is not searched by the Westlaw search query.

Universal Copyright Convention - Universal Copyright Convention as Revised - Berne Convention As Revised - Buenos Aires Convention - Convention for the Protection of Producers of Phonograms Against Unauthorized Duplication of Their Phonograms - Convention Relating to the Distribution of Programme-Carrying Signals Transmitted by Satellite - Patent Cooperation Treaty - Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property - Nice Agreement Concerning the International Classification of Goods and Services for the Purposes of the Registration of Marks - General Inter-American Convention for Trademark and Commercial Protection - Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks - Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards - Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial Matters - Convention on the Taking of Evidence Abroad in Civil or Commercial Matters - Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating to International Transportation by Air ('Warsaw Convention') - Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction - United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods - Convention on the Limitation Period in the International Sale of Goods as Amended by the Protocol Amending the Convention on the Limitation Period in the International Sale of Goods - Inter-American Convention on International Commercial Arbitration - Convention Abolishing the Requirement of Legislation for Foreign Public Documents - Inter-American Convention on Letters Rogatory - Agreement between the Government of the United States of America and the Commission of the European Communities Regarding the Application of Their Competition Laws - WIPO Copyright Treaty - WIPO Performances And Phonogram Treaty - Trademark Law Treaty - Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules for International Carriage by Air ("Montreal Convention") - Hague Convention on Protection of Children and Co-operation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption - Vienna Convention on Consular Relations - Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations - Charter of the United Nations ("U.N. Charter") - Geneva Convention (I) for the amelioration of the condition of the wounded and sick in armed forces in the field - Geneva Convention (II) for the amelioration of the condition of the wounded, sick, and shipwrecked members of armed forces at sea - Geneva Convention (III) relative to the treatment of prisoners of war - Geneva Convention (IV) relative to the protection of civilian persons in time of war - Convention against torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment - Optional protocol to the convention on the rights of the child on the involvement of children in armed conflict - Optional protocol to the convention on the rights of the child on the sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography - Convention on prohibitions or restrictions on the use of certain conventional weapons which may be deemed to be excessively injurious or to have indiscriminate effects - Protocol relating to the status of refugees - International covenant on civil and political rights.