Law, Labor, and Care: Critical Perspectives on WorkLife Law Research Guide

Browse recent cases or search all Labor & Employment Cases.
To the right is a link to Labor Law Dockets.

Advanced Search

Edit the search to search within Labor & Employment Law Cases. Use the topic selectors on the left to limit your results to labor and/or employment law cases.

Search all Labor & Employment Statutes & Court Rules in the search bar or navigate to specific content.

Scroll down below Cases to see links to Statutes and Legislaton

Get a chart comparing state labor & employment laws on issues such as: Local Minimum Wage Provisions; Meal & Rest Breaks; Overtime; Work Scheduling; Age Discrimination; Disability Discrimination, and more.

Compare labor and employment laws across different U.S. jurisdictions.
Topics include:

Select Practice Area: Labor & Employment to get a dropdown menu of topics to choose from. Compare laws on these topics in U.S. jurisdictions.

Use the Search bar to find articles that provide relevant cases from various U.S. jurisdictions on labor & employment law topics.

Search in this section of Westlaw for labor & employment law topics. Review the footnotes for important cases or other primary law sources.

Search within for your more specific topic.

Search within the results for a more specific topic and use the filters to limit by additional key numbers (sub-topics), jurisdiction and date.

Docket information on active and inactive cases filed in U.S. district courts nationwide. Comprehensive full docket coverage begins with January 2000, full dockets with corresponding caselaw are available as far back as 1990, and docket index records are available for most courts going back to 1990 or further. New Dockets are added daily.

See how specific types of cases get resolved, how much the settlements tend to be. Filter by jurisdiction, type of harm caused, case resolution, plaintiff gender and keyword.

NORMLEX (Information System on International Labour Standards)
Toggle the button for Protocols or Recommendations.

Mission: To foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights.

The National Labor Relations Board is an independent federal agency vested with the power to safeguard employees' rights to organize and to determine whether to have unions as their bargaining representative. The agency also acts to prevent and remedy unfair labor practices committed by private sector employers and unions.

Responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related conditions, transgender status, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.

Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative histories, indexes and full text of congressional publications from Congressional Information Service, Inc. Coverage: 1789 - present; full text digital Serial Set 1789-1969. Also includes Executive Branch documents (1789-1932) and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations (1789-present).

Contents:
Background Reports from CRS | Viewpoints/Hearings | News etc.

A wide variety of content issued by the DOL, including, but not limited to, Decisions issued by the Administrative Law Judges, Employees' Compensation Appeals Board, Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals, Benefits Review Board, Administrative Review Board, Employee Benefits Services Administration, Sarbanes-Oxley Act Decisions, and Wage & Hour Opinion Letters. This collection also includes OSHA Directives and related materials, Bureau of Labor Statistics Publications, and News Releases and other Guidance Documents. Coverage varies by individual source.

Search all Department of Labor materials or navigate to specific content including documents produced by the:
.Administrative Review Board
Benefits Review Board (BRB)
Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals (BALCA)
Department of Labor FAQ
Dictionary of Occupational Titles
Employee Benefits Security Administration (EBSA)
Employees' Compensation Appeals Board (ECAB)

International Labour Organization