LibGuides: European Union Law Research Guide: EU Cases (and Digests)

European Court of Justice

The Court of Justice of the European Union (previously the European Court of Justice, or ECJ) issues judgments and orders interpreting E.U. treaties and legislation. Cases can be brought by E.U. institutions, member states, and individuals against E.U. institutions; against E.U. member states for failing to fulfill their treaty obligations; and by national courts requesting preliminary rulings on the validity or interpretations of E.U. law. Decisions are binding and take precedence over national laws.

Court of Justice of the European Union
(previously the European Court of Justice, or ECJ) issues judgments and orders interpreting E.U. treaties and legislation. Cases can be brought by E.U. institutions, member states, and individuals against E.U. institutions; against E.U. member states for failing to fulfill their treaty obligations; and by national courts requesting preliminary rulings on the validity or interpretations of E.U. law. Decisions are binding and take precedence over national laws.
The General Court
(previously the Court of First Instance) hears actions brought by member states against the Commission and by individuals against EU institutions.

Judgments and Orders of the courts can be found:

European Union Cases
Full-text decisions of the Court of Justice of the European Communities, the Court of First Instance of the European Communities (General Court), the Civil Service Tribunal and the EFTA Court, as well as the text of advocate-general opinions, court orders, and judgments, as reported by the Office for Official Publications for the European Communities and included in European Court Reports. Coverage begins with 1954 for the Court of Justice of the European Communities; 1989 for the Court of First Instance of the European Communities (General Court); 2006 for the Civil Service Tribunal; and 1994 for the EFTA Court.
European Union Cases
Full text of EU Cases where published in English from the Court of Justice of the EU and the General Court of the EU (formerly CFI). The cases from the ECJ date from 1954 and cases from the Court of First Instance (now General Court of the EU) date from 1989.
InfoCuria Database
Search for caselaw by parties, date, case status, case number, or ECLLI citation. Other search fields include full-text, type of document (judgment, order), subject matter, and references to legislation or caselaw (Treaty, Directive, Regulation, or Decision by citation and year).
EUR-Lex
Advanced Search options include European Case-Law Identifier, date, parties, CELEX number of the legal act, theme or subject matter, and date.
Court of Justice website
News and most recent judgments and opinions
HeinOnline
HeinOnline includes full-text access to more than 1,500 law journals, and current and classic legal sources. It provides exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print.
Reports of Cases before the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance
1954-current. If this link does not work, or requires you to log on, use the link above to log in.
ECLI: European Case-Law Identifier
Standard caselaw identifier for EU and European national court citations. Includes a country code (or EU), the court, year, and number.
Dec.Nat
EU database of national court decisions on EU law. Search by country, provision of EU law (regulation, directive), CELEX number, keyword, or treaty provision.

Digests

Court of Justice of the European Union Digest of the case-law
Digest of Case-Law Relating to the European Communities: A Series.
Looseleaf. Luxembourg: Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 1984- This series digests decisions of the Court of Justice of the European Communities relating to general principles. The digest excludes judgments relating to civil service and jurisdiction questions. The Library has volume 2 and the index.
5th Stacks ; KJE925.5 .D6
European Current Law Year Book.
London: Sweet & Maxwell, 1993-
Annual culmination of European Current Law: Monthly Digest.
5th Stacks ; KJC30 .E97
European Current Law: Monthly Digest.
London: Sweet & Maxwell, 1992-
This monthly publication digests new international and national legislation. The publication also summarizes published cases from all East, Central and West European countries. 5th Stacks ; KJC30 .E9
It replaces...
European Law Digest
[1975 -1991] 5th Stacks ; KJC30 .E87

Court Procedure

Appeals Before the Court of Justice of the European Union by Caroline Naome
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780198826255
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
This book describes the rules governing appeals before the Court of Justice of the European Union. The appeal is the judicial remedy by which a party may contest a decision of the General Court of the European Union. It concerns matters in which the Tribunal has jurisdiction such as, competition, mergers, state aids, access to documents, restrictive measures, EU staff, trade marks, and other areas of intellectual property.

This form of judicial remedy was created just over 25 years ago. It is specific to the ECJ, and can only be learned through the case-law. This book is a description of the case-law, and of the rules that the lawyers pleading appeal cases are required to know.