LibGuides: Racial Justice Research Guide: LatCrit Theory

Find Books on your Topic at UC Law SF

UC Law SF Library offers extensive resources for research on LatCrit Theory, including print & e-books. If you do not see the books that you need, you can borrow books from other institutions via interlibrary loans.

UC Law SF Catalog
To find books online or in print, use the UC Law SF Library catalog. You can also use this resource to search for journals or articles.

Here are some searches that you may want to try using in various databases. Following the links takes you to that search in the UC Law SF catalog. Use filters to refine your search:

Subject contains exact phrase Hispanic Americans -- Race identity
Filters: Books. Sorted by Date-newest.
Subject contains exact phrase Hispanic Americans -- Social conditions
Filters: Books. Sorted by Date-newest.
Subject contains exact phrase Hispanic Americans -- Government policy
Filters: Books. Sorted by Date-newest.
Subject contains exact phrase Latin America -- Emigration and immigration
Filters: Books. Sorted by Date-newest.
Subject contains exact phrase Race discrimination -- Law and legislation -- United States
Filters: Books. Sorted by Date-newest.
Subject contains exact phrase Racism -- United States
Filters: Books. Sorted by Date-newest.

Select Bibliography of LatCrit Books

Racism on Trial by Ian F. Haney López
Call Number: 4th Stacks F869.E18 H36 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Print available
Latino/a Rights and Justice in the United States by José Luis Morín
Call Number: 4th Stacks E184.S75 M67 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Print available
Tierra y Libertad: Land, Liberty, and Latino Housing by Steven W. Bender
Call Number: 4th Stacks HD7288.72.U5 B46 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Print available
U. S. Latinos and Criminal Injustice by Lupe S. Salinas
Call Number: 5th Stacks KF4757.5.L38 S35 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Print and ebook available

Subscription Databases

Political Database of the Americas This link opens in a new window
The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University. It offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.

Recommended Websites

LatCrit
Emerging from the legal academy of the United States following a 1995 colloquium in Puerto Rico on Latina/o Communities and Critical Race Theory, “LatCrit theory” is a relatively recent genre of critical “outsider jurisprudence” – a category of contemporary scholarship including critical legal studies, feminist legal theory, critical race theory, critical race feminism, Asian American legal scholarship and queer theory.
UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center
The UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC) was designed to have a systemic impact on the campus and in the field. Its research mission is supported by five distinct components: a library with special collections archive, an academic press, collaborative research projects, public programs and community-based partnerships, and a competitive grant and fellowship program.
United Farm Workers
Begun in 1962 by Cesar Chavez, Dolores Huerta, Gilbert Padilla and other early organizers, the United Farm Workers of America is the nation’s first enduring and largest farm workers union. The UFW continues organizing in major agricultural sectors, chiefly in California.